Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Simply fabulous! I used the starter by the same cook, Becky Richardson, that has potato flakes rather than flour, let my dough rise over night, kneaded for 10 minutes and formed two loaves. I had to let the loaves rise for two hours in order for them to double in size, then baked them. At 350 degrees, my loaves browned a little faster than I would have liked. Next time I will set my oven to 300 degrees. This bread was awesome and I have never made sourdough bread before. This will become a staple for my family, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carla walton
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
this is a delicios bread. i used the sourdough starter 1 with this recipe and i had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Bread is wonderful. Holds up well, lasted more than a week in a plastic storage container. Fabulous as oven baked French Toast with orange flavoring, orange zest and dried cherries. I'm currently attempting to freeze 2 unbaked loaves, I'll edit when I find out if it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
You wouldn't believe how amazing my house smells right now! I tried a sampling and this bread tastes amazing. I followed the recipe as written and didn't change a thing, other than the fact that there was no way I could let the dough rise overnight on the countertop. After about 4 hours it was to the top of the bowl I had it in and it spent the night in the refrigerator. I must have a very lively starter! The next day when I got home from work I kneaded it for maybe 5 minutes and made one loaf and 12 small rolls. They turned out a little lumpier than some of the other pictures posted (maybe because I didn't knead it the full 1 minutes) but the flavor is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I, like a handful of other reviewers, must have done something terribly wrong. My dough did not rise enough to double, and ultimately ended up as a dense, heavy, small loaf. Very disappointing. I tried this recipe due to the reviews raving about what a light loaf of bread this made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This bread was AWESOME using Becky's starter, but waaay too sweet for my taate. Will make again using less sugar. Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This bread is amazing!!! This is my first attempt to make homemade bread. My Mom made a bread similar to this when I was a little girl. I called her up to let her know how great it is. Now my children will get to enjoy something I grew up with too. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
wasted alot of flour to learn that my starter didn't have the yeast to work. Maybe try this again later after my starter has matured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I am a newbie to breadmaking- I have made about a dozen loaves of a simple Amish white bread found elsewhere on this site, with good results, learning from each loaf. As an example of what I've learned, I moved from disposable aluminum foil pans to glass, and now to cast iron (cast iron being a fascination of mine). I've been wanting to try a sourdough for a year and finally got the guts to try making my own starter two weeks ago. Having a healthy sponge, I needed a recipe- didn't realize that till I had already started getting everthing out of my cabinets to make bread Saturday morning. I downloaded the allrecipes Android app and looked up a basic sourdough bread- landing here. It's now Sunday morning and I've just taken the bread out of the oven. It is AMAZING!! A touch of sourness to it, definitely a different smell as it cooked, but definitely a very yummy smell. One thing to note for you new bakers- don't do like I did, start at 2pm then have to stay up till 3am because the dough's rising faster than you expected (but don't expect it to rise at all quickly, either). I ended up sectioning the dough into pans at 3am, and then left them to rise while I slept- ended up with excess dough on the counter. That turned out fine, though- olive oil on a piece of aluminum foil and in the oven it went, giving me something to munch on while I waited for the bread to cool. I now have two beautiful loaves of artisan bread on a plate, and have to fight off the family to not dig in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States