Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
You wouldn't believe how amazing my house smells right now! I tried a sampling and this bread tastes amazing. I followed the recipe as written and didn't change a thing, other than the fact that there was no way I could let the dough rise overnight on the countertop. After about 4 hours it was to the top of the bowl I had it in and it spent the night in the refrigerator. I must have a very lively starter! The next day when I got home from work I kneaded it for maybe 5 minutes and made one loaf and 12 small rolls. They turned out a little lumpier than some of the other pictures posted (maybe because I didn't knead it the full 1 minutes) but the flavor is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I, like a handful of other reviewers, must have done something terribly wrong. My dough did not rise enough to double, and ultimately ended up as a dense, heavy, small loaf. Very disappointing. I tried this recipe due to the reviews raving about what a light loaf of bread this made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This bread was AWESOME using Becky's starter, but waaay too sweet for my taate. Will make again using less sugar. Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This bread is amazing!!! This is my first attempt to make homemade bread. My Mom made a bread similar to this when I was a little girl. I called her up to let her know how great it is. Now my children will get to enjoy something I grew up with too. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
wasted alot of flour to learn that my starter didn't have the yeast to work. Maybe try this again later after my starter has matured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I am a newbie to breadmaking- I have made about a dozen loaves of a simple Amish white bread found elsewhere on this site, with good results, learning from each loaf. As an example of what I've learned, I moved from disposable aluminum foil pans to glass, and now to cast iron (cast iron being a fascination of mine). I've been wanting to try a sourdough for a year and finally got the guts to try making my own starter two weeks ago. Having a healthy sponge, I needed a recipe- didn't realize that till I had already started getting everthing out of my cabinets to make bread Saturday morning. I downloaded the allrecipes Android app and looked up a basic sourdough bread- landing here. It's now Sunday morning and I've just taken the bread out of the oven. It is AMAZING!! A touch of sourness to it, definitely a different smell as it cooked, but definitely a very yummy smell. One thing to note for you new bakers- don't do like I did, start at 2pm then have to stay up till 3am because the dough's rising faster than you expected (but don't expect it to rise at all quickly, either). I ended up sectioning the dough into pans at 3am, and then left them to rise while I slept- ended up with excess dough on the counter. That turned out fine, though- olive oil on a piece of aluminum foil and in the oven it went, giving me something to munch on while I waited for the bread to cool. I now have two beautiful loaves of artisan bread on a plate, and have to fight off the family to not dig in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Simple and Awesome. I buttered pans and gave a milk bath after they rose before baking but that is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Makes a great bread and when divided in 6 separate balls, it makes for great soup bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This recipe worked out perfectly! I did not use any salt because I thought I had heard that it kills yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Tried this recipe out as my first sourdough with a starter that I started. It came out great.I made one loave & four small buns. My husband ended up taking a bun to work for lunch. I didn't have any bread flour so I used 4 cups of whole wheat flour & 2 cups of allpurpose flour. I also wasn't sure how long to let the loaves rise so I let it go for about 2 hrs I could've put them in the oven earlier, but it's winter time. I did agree with someone else about it being sweet but with the whole wheat I would only cut it down to about 1/3 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States