Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I've been making this bread for almost a year now and it's truly the easiest and best tasting I've made.I use my own starter almost a year old an usually half this recipe because we like the bread fresh..Everyone that's tried it loves it ,it makes a big loaf .I usually stir mine together at night and leave to rise till the next morning.In the morning I knead it and place in 4 x 8 greased pan and let it rise again.This rising usually only takes about2 hours and it's over the top of the pan.Love this bread thanks for such a good recipe.Mine usually bakes for 35 min.when I cool it I slather on butter for a soft crust.Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Very easy to make, and it turned out wonderful! I cut the recipe in half and made it as cloverleaf rolls, and it only took about 12 minutes in the oven. Really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This bread recipe was great! I thought the sugar and oil was going to be too much, so I used 1/3 cup of each instead. I let it rise a long time ... all morning and into the afternoon. Great texture. Made the best toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was a great smooth dough when I kneaded it but it baked flat. I can't figure out what else to do. I made a proof box out of my oven and let it rise in there. Beware, it is really sticky, but it works out as you knead it. I may try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I am absolutely ecstatic! I thought I would never be able to make real bread (after some disastrous inedible tree branches in the past from other recipes) until I baked this one today! It's delicious, flavorful, and it's real bread! (Yes, I'm excited!) I will make this from now on. No more using my bread machine as a crutch. This was easy. I can't wait to experiment with different loaf shapes. I used olive oil instead of corn oil, and I started in the morning, let it rise all day, then did the second kneading that night, and let it rise overnight and baked it in the morning. It might sound silly, but the confidence this recipe gave me could be life changing! I am thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I used the simple sourdough starter you start with yeast and let sit out several days. I hadn't been feeding it regularly so I thought I killed it. I made a dough with the recipe after feeding the starter the day before and let the dough sit overnight. It had just about doubled but I wasn't ready to bake it just yet so I stored it in the fridge. After a day in the fridge I pulled it out in the morning to warm it up. When I got home from work I kneded it for about 10min and then divided it up half for pizza and half for breadsticks. After forming I let rest/rise for 20-30 min. Both the sticks and pizza turned out. (the pizza took a bit longer and next time I'll increase the temp to 375-400.). The sourdough flavor was subtle but present none the less. The bread was dense and had a good crust. Next time I'm putting kosher salt on the sticks before I bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is an easy, wonderful bread with lots of flavor and is beautifully soft. DH is gonna LOVE this! I particularly like that I don't have to use yeast as well as starter with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Love this recipe! The rise overnight needs to be about 12+ hours...and the second rise time is very long also 4+ hours depending on how warm your kitchen is. This bread is definately worth the wait...and other than a few minutes of mixing and 10 minutes of kneading - the rest of the time length of this recipe is waiting. I even left my house to run errands while the bread was doing it's second rise. Love this recipe & so does the family! Only modification I made was cut the amount of sugar in half :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I had only tried making my own starter a week ago with just wheat flour and water (following internet instructions) and didn't think it would work but it did. Then after a week I wanted to make bread and found this recipe. I've made bread with my starter and this recipe three times now. All times were successful - this recipe makes lovely bread. The crumb looks just like grocery bread - so professional looking! The only thing I would suggest to newbies is that the six cups bread flour is approximate. The instructions aren't terribly clear but you're to add flour and mix until a dough forms easily. You shouldn't be adding lots of flour after the first rise. If your starter is strong (doubles easily in 6-10 hours) then you should not have problem with it rising when it comes to this recipe. I had a very strong sourdough taste because I let my bread rise 12 hours the first rise it "ate" up the 1/2 cup sugar and I ended up with sourdough bread and it was not too sweet at all. Btw, the suggestion of starting this recipe at night is a good one. It gives the dough time to rise while you sleep. I start it about 7 or 9pm at night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I used my own starter but this bread was wonderful. I added garlic and rosemary to one loaf and shredded cheddar cheese to the other. I got rave reviews. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States