Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
First sourdough bread I have made in 20 years and it turned out perfect. Easy to make, almost fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I did 3/4 cup of sugar but otherwise everything as stated and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tree Saw
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This sourdough has a great taste. I ran into the same problem as some regarding the dough not rising. So, the 2nd time around, I kneaded the dough for 10 mins first before setting aside to let rise. After kneading the dough, I split it in half and placed in oiled loaf pans and let rise overnight. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
so far its perfect I should have used a bigger bowl to let it rise it looks great I will let you know after second rise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby Simms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Excellent. This is the real deal and perhaps one of the FEW real sourdoughs on this site. Making sourdough with cultured yeast defeats purpose of sourdough. Nicely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I like how the consistency if this bread turned out. Very fluffy on the inside and a firm crust in the outside. Both things that are required for a good sourdough loaf. However this isn't a sourdough. It is a white bread that uses a starter. My sourdough starter is very very sour and has been in my family for 60+ years (and my grandmother started while working at Boudin bakery in San Francisco) making delicious sourdough, so I know it wasn't a bad starter. It just doesn't make for a very sour loaf. That being said I was looking for a recipe that didn't take 3 days like my grandmother's and this one will do just fine. I might tweak it a bit to make it more sour but other than that it makes for a great bread. For anyone not using bread flour I highly recommend replacing two tbls of flour with baking soda so that you get a proper rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This recipe turned out really well! I did not have a problem kneading it after it rose. I added and extra cup of starter and it was a bit sweet. MAybe a little less sugar next time. That being said, every started is going to be a bit different. Over all, a very successful baking experience. I should note, I am NOT and experience bread baker and found this recipe pretty easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
The starter is great (use Becky's) and follow the recipe. Easy to make and tastes great. At first the bread is very spongy and doesn't taste much like sour dough (it's a very sticky dough too). But it improves emencely as the starter is fed and ages. My guys really like it, give it a try! Thanks Becky! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notabrat1
Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
try this with dried cranberries and toasted pecans....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_anne
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Love this bread!! I first made it exactly as written and it is perfect that way but all cooks "mess" with a recipe sometimes. I make it twice a week, so easy and my friends and neighbors love me. I do use melted butter instead of corn oil and rarely knead it after just a bit before the first rise. Works both ways. I even did a taste test at work to see if there was a difference taste wise. came out even. Just a preference so if you feel lazy don't knead it see what you think. I use Becky's starter I do add three TBSP of sugar and three of potato flakes to feed it. Don't know if it is a big deal, just goofed up one day and it seemed to work better. Might just be in my head or my native yeast. Oh yes once in awhile I add gluten to the bread flour. 2 TBSP for the two loaves. A bit more protein and texture. Since I work and am single and can eat when I want I set the started out all night after I feed it and mix the bread in the am to rise. When I get home I make the loaves and let rise about an hour and bake 45 minutes in my oven. Works out great for me. This bread will last for at least 12 days on the counter in a bag. Never has molded. If it lasted longer might be able to tell how long before it spoils, but I eat it! Toast it for a great flavor later on in the week. Wow the french bread it makes is a killer!! FYI not sour like San Francisco bread just really good. Thanks Becky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States