Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
Been looking for this recipe for years. Best bread I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
It takes time to make this bread, but it is worth it. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
This recipe divides in half really easily if you only want to make one loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
I've used this basic potato flake sourdough recipe for a few years now and it's wonderful. For a variation I substitute 1 cup of oatmeal for a cup of the flour and use 1/2 cup of pancake syrup instead of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
A friend gave me a loaf, then she gave me the starter.....I was nervous but it turned out just like hers. Her recipe is the same as this BUT only 1/3 c. of sugar. This is a very sweet dough ! Excellect flavor,great to work with and keeps well in plastic bag in or out of the freezer. I have also rolled the dough (after the 1st rise) into a round pizza pan...... after the 2nd rise, 5hr. or so later....I baked my pizza crust 350 till lt. brown 20 -25 min. Allow to cool and spread pizza sauce ( found the recipe here!)cheese & toppings ......Bake 400 till browned .....note I always use parchment paper under my doughs for easy removal & clean up....My family "LOVED" the pizza....Next I'll make cinn rolls....All I know is you have to follow the directions fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I would like to know what I did wrong. After leaving all night I had to add flour to be able to knead. Then the dough never raised again. I had to throw it away. Any suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
Most people say that this kind of bread takes soooo long to make, but actually it takes no longer than other bread, you just have to spread your activities out over 2 days instead of a solid half an hour. No matter what, it is worth it! I used to make this bread, then I got wimpy and started using the bread machine, but now I'm back, because there is no substitute for this bread! The only suggestions I would make is to let your bread rise both times in a very warm place, and I omit the sifting of the flour (but that's a personal thing I guess). Your bread will get rave reviews, especially if they can smell it when it's baking and taste it hot out of the oven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
Everyone in my family loved my bread. I really enjoyed making this recipe and it was very easy! Thank you sooooooo much for sharing your recipe with me and others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I had the same problem as a previous reviewer: after rising initially, the dough needed lots of flour (was like a batter) and did not rise a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Great recipe!!!! Makes wonderful bread!! I used Becky Richardson's starter with this, thought I messed it up, but the bread is delicious and came out perfectly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States