Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I just made this recipe and my husband and I are probably going to finish the first loaf today. We are trying to resist, but it is really hard! I'm not a big sourdough fan, but my husband is. I only liked sourdough that I made years ago when someone gave me a starter. I used Esthers recipe for starter and this is near the top of the list as the best bread I have ever made! Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I have made sourdough bread for many years. However, I let my starter go too long without feeding it. I used Becky's starter recipe, and my dough is rising at this very minute. I can't wait to bake it in the morning. I give it to family and friends, and they enjoy it too. Thanks for sharing Becky. I'm back in business now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Mine didn't rise at all. Not the first time and not the second time. I really think that you need to add yeast, especially with a mature starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I do not have the recipe for the starter, I would love to try this if someone could get me started. I am new to bread making. OK this will be my first. The reviews I think will help me a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I am a single mother of four and my kids hate homemade bread. That is until they tried this recipe. Now I can't make it fast enough. It tastes even better cooked outside over a fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Excellent! If you follow the recipe, it's fool proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camby, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
The bread was wonderful. Probably because my starter had a pretty thin consistency (like pancake batter) I needed to use 7 1/2 cups of flour to create the appropriate dough texture. I started the bread in the morning and then let it rise six hours. I did not knead the dough after dividing it, rather I just shaped the loaves and let them rise until double. The crust was thin and crisp and texture of the bread was soft and lovely. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harperist

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is a good basic recipe, but the two times, I've made it, I've also altered it - hence the three star review. Both times I've made it, I've increased the salt to two teaspoons and decreased the sugar to 1/4 cup. This last time I also chopped up a hand full of herbs (basil, oregano, savory, parsley, thyme and chives) in a small food processor and drizzled 1/2 cup olive oil over the herbs as they chopped. This mixture was substituted for the 1/2 cup corn oil. The herbed bread turned out delish! Also, I will say that I've been using a very young starter and am looking forward to it aging a bit, and providing more tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made this recipe years ago using the potato flake starter and it was soft, slightly tangy/slightly sweet sourdough bread. I made it again yesterday into today using King Arthur Flour sourdough starter and it was so aggresively sour my dog won't eat it! If you are making this bread for the first time, use her starter recipe, too. Even the "wicked bad" loaf rose well and had great texture. This is a keeper recipe as long as your sourdough isn't an agressive breed :-) If you have a more agressive starter, edit the recipe to include 1 packet of yeast, and cut the rising time to 90 minutes instead of overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
The end result was a heck of a surprise. During the making process, I was sure that this was going to be a total failure, but I followed the recipe and WHAM, I ended up with some GREAT bread. Thanks Becky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States