Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This recipe is excellent (munching a piece right now)! I had a little issue with rise, but this is due to the fact that I have relatively young starter. My dough took 2 days to rise (so don't give up hope if it takes a while). Also, the bread is only lightly sour. Again, this is because I have a young starter. But the flavor is lovely. Thanks for posting! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I didn't have any problem getting it to rise but it was too sweet for me...not sour enough for "sour" dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I've been using this recipe for awhile now & it's excellent. I use Becky's "Sourdough Starter I", all purpose flour and canola oil. I mix everything but the flour in a large bowl with a wooden spoon (adding the last cup of flour gradually -you may need a little more or less) and then I mix it a couple of minutes by hand until it is a nice consistency. I leave mine slightly sticky. I've gotten lazy & I never do the 10 minute knead anymore. I just deflate it & shape it a little to fit my pan & it comes out great! For the 2nd rise, I always leave the bread in the oven, uncovered so that I don't deflate it taking the cover off. I used to only make yeast bread so when I first made this, I was unaware of the very LONG RISE TIME. Plan on anywhere from 5-7 hours for your second rise. I bake it 40 minutes & it's always perfect. This bread does NOT have the typical sour sourdough flavor so if that's what you're looking for, this is not for you. It is delicious though but expect a hint of sweetness. We love it toasted and buttered! Even my picky husband loves the flavor! Thank you Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Great recipe. I wasn't worried that with only the started the bread wouldn't rise. Sure enough it took the full overnight period to rise the first time and about 6 hours to rise the second time but it was amazing! Like others I would advise cutting back on the sugar and maybe a dash more salt. I made two loafs and would advise bread rounds instead of the the loaf. The round seemed to rise better, backed more evenly and had a better texture. It did only need to bake for about 25 minutes, so be careful. I will absolutely make this recipe again with my slight alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was my first attempt at sourdough & it worked great! I followed to a "t" using the same starter (also by Becky). I wasn't sure about just placing the dough in the bread pan - I thought it should be rolled & shaped, so that's what I did. I actually baked them on a flat stone & made long loaves. My family could not get enough of this bread - I continued making it every 5 days all winter long! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Didn't work for me. I used a starter recommended on another page consisting of 1c milk, 1c sugar, 1 c flour---stired daily for 5 days and same ingredients added again and process repeated. On day 10 I tried this sourdough. I read many comments by other readers first and tried to follow the "fool proof" suggestions. Mine came out flat and very sugary. I only used 1/4c sugar knowing my starter had plenty of sugar in it. I did not add yeast---as many said I did not need to. I had a dough that was like a kneadable dough at first but then it got wetter and wetter. I probably added at least 1/2 cup if not 1 cup as I went as it was all sticking to me and the board as I kneaded. I finally put it in the pans and it almost looked like banana bread in it before cooking. Just very wet. I followed suggestions saying not to add more flour, that it needed to be wet looking. Nuttin. Never rose. I think I'm back to buying yummy sr dough from the store. It was worth a try but a little disheartening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lceballos105
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This recipe is perfect!!! My family and friends love it! I made no changes to the recipe! Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lceballos105

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I followed this recipe, but made rolls instead of a loaf. I formed the dough into little balls, slightly larger than a golf ball, dropped them in cupcake style baking cups, and baked them for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. They are incredible. My starter is super tangy, and the combination of tangy and sweet is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
My dough rose wonderfully overnight and was the most delicous sourdough bread I have ever tasted. I was so pleased to find out that I could actually make something so wonderful. I want to make it for my elderly dad. He would be so proud that i caught wild yeast and then made this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaupon Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I think I had a bit of a weak starter, but the bread still came out fine. It browned awfully quickly, so I think I took it out a tad too early, but it was still okay. Even though I only used 1/4 cup of sugar, it was still a bit too sweet for my taste, but then again I have spoilt German taste buds when it comes to bread. ;) Overall, this is a nice and easy recipe which is suitable for sourdough newbies like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States