Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
wasted alot of flour to learn that my starter didn't have the yeast to work. Maybe try this again later after my starter has matured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I am a newbie to breadmaking- I have made about a dozen loaves of a simple Amish white bread found elsewhere on this site, with good results, learning from each loaf. As an example of what I've learned, I moved from disposable aluminum foil pans to glass, and now to cast iron (cast iron being a fascination of mine). I've been wanting to try a sourdough for a year and finally got the guts to try making my own starter two weeks ago. Having a healthy sponge, I needed a recipe- didn't realize that till I had already started getting everthing out of my cabinets to make bread Saturday morning. I downloaded the allrecipes Android app and looked up a basic sourdough bread- landing here. It's now Sunday morning and I've just taken the bread out of the oven. It is AMAZING!! A touch of sourness to it, definitely a different smell as it cooked, but definitely a very yummy smell. One thing to note for you new bakers- don't do like I did, start at 2pm then have to stay up till 3am because the dough's rising faster than you expected (but don't expect it to rise at all quickly, either). I ended up sectioning the dough into pans at 3am, and then left them to rise while I slept- ended up with excess dough on the counter. That turned out fine, though- olive oil on a piece of aluminum foil and in the oven it went, giving me something to munch on while I waited for the bread to cool. I now have two beautiful loaves of artisan bread on a plate, and have to fight off the family to not dig in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Simple and Awesome. I buttered pans and gave a milk bath after they rose before baking but that is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Makes a great bread and when divided in 6 separate balls, it makes for great soup bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This recipe worked out perfectly! I did not use any salt because I thought I had heard that it kills yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Tried this recipe out as my first sourdough with a starter that I started. It came out great.I made one loave & four small buns. My husband ended up taking a bun to work for lunch. I didn't have any bread flour so I used 4 cups of whole wheat flour & 2 cups of allpurpose flour. I also wasn't sure how long to let the loaves rise so I let it go for about 2 hrs I could've put them in the oven earlier, but it's winter time. I did agree with someone else about it being sweet but with the whole wheat I would only cut it down to about 1/3 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is an amazing bread. I highly suggest using Becky's sourdough starter that uses potato flakes to make this bread with. I have made plain bread, rolls, and cinnamon bread with it. I personally use the bread rising setting on my dehydrator and do a 4 hour rise the first time and a 2 hour rise the second time. I am currently making bread sticks with it. I have not let it rise overnight (too cold in my house) Oh Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe. I also discovered something cool quite by accident! I left the sugar out until it was time to punch. So I kneaded it in and my loaves rose faster then they normally would. I think this bread could use a little more salt, but it was still yummy. The texture is really fantastic and I dig the clear directions. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasarasara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
OMG! This was my first try at making bread and this recipe came out wonderful.. Only difference was that I had starter from Amish Friendship Bread which uses sugar and milk so the bread came out sweeter than I imagine the recipe intends. It was still very tasty, especially buttered with a spicy dish of New Orleans style barbequed shrimp. If I make it again using Friendship bread starter I'll just cut back on the sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Of course after I had this all mixed and rising I read all of the reviews. 6 cups of flour was entirely too much for my kind of starter. My starter is much more thick than the author's, and thus created a less liquid mix to begin adding flour. I will in the future only use 5 cups. Having said that, even after 45 minutes in the oven, the bread did not brown quickly, and though it did rise well for both risings, both loaves weighed a ton. The results were that my husband proclaimed it to be the best crust he'd ever eaten. So we traded, I gave him the crust and he gave me the unfortunately mushy center. The crust was, indeed good, very sweet and so close to the flavor I was looking for, but the center was very heavy and dense. So, as you are making this, consider the type of starter you have and adjust your flour accordingly. I will try again...this is a learning process and if at first you don't succeed, try again. Right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States