Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Simple and Awesome. I buttered pans and gave a milk bath after they rose before baking but that is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Makes a great bread and when divided in 6 separate balls, it makes for great soup bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This recipe worked out perfectly! I did not use any salt because I thought I had heard that it kills yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Tried this recipe out as my first sourdough with a starter that I started. It came out great.I made one loave & four small buns. My husband ended up taking a bun to work for lunch. I didn't have any bread flour so I used 4 cups of whole wheat flour & 2 cups of allpurpose flour. I also wasn't sure how long to let the loaves rise so I let it go for about 2 hrs I could've put them in the oven earlier, but it's winter time. I did agree with someone else about it being sweet but with the whole wheat I would only cut it down to about 1/3 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is an amazing bread. I highly suggest using Becky's sourdough starter that uses potato flakes to make this bread with. I have made plain bread, rolls, and cinnamon bread with it. I personally use the bread rising setting on my dehydrator and do a 4 hour rise the first time and a 2 hour rise the second time. I am currently making bread sticks with it. I have not let it rise overnight (too cold in my house) Oh Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe. I also discovered something cool quite by accident! I left the sugar out until it was time to punch. So I kneaded it in and my loaves rose faster then they normally would. I think this bread could use a little more salt, but it was still yummy. The texture is really fantastic and I dig the clear directions. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasarasara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
OMG! This was my first try at making bread and this recipe came out wonderful.. Only difference was that I had starter from Amish Friendship Bread which uses sugar and milk so the bread came out sweeter than I imagine the recipe intends. It was still very tasty, especially buttered with a spicy dish of New Orleans style barbequed shrimp. If I make it again using Friendship bread starter I'll just cut back on the sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Of course after I had this all mixed and rising I read all of the reviews. 6 cups of flour was entirely too much for my kind of starter. My starter is much more thick than the author's, and thus created a less liquid mix to begin adding flour. I will in the future only use 5 cups. Having said that, even after 45 minutes in the oven, the bread did not brown quickly, and though it did rise well for both risings, both loaves weighed a ton. The results were that my husband proclaimed it to be the best crust he'd ever eaten. So we traded, I gave him the crust and he gave me the unfortunately mushy center. The crust was, indeed good, very sweet and so close to the flavor I was looking for, but the center was very heavy and dense. So, as you are making this, consider the type of starter you have and adjust your flour accordingly. I will try again...this is a learning process and if at first you don't succeed, try again. Right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingAddict485
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used my own starter for this which is just a basic flour and water one. It turned out so good! I made it with 4 cups white flour and 2 of whole wheat flour and that made a nice texture. I also did 1 loaf of bread and then made 12 rolls with the other half of the dough. I rolled the tops of them in poppy seeds and cooked them in a 9x13 dish for 30 minutes. They are even yummier than the bread. I can't wait to use this recipe again. A note to those who are having problems with the dough rising, it's not the recipe, it's your starter. Try feeding it for two days before baking your bread. Mine is a hearty starter and my dough rose very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Syd0224
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I received a sourdough starter from my father and tried a recipe that he had given me. That "batch" never really rose and came out very heavy. I had to try again so I found this recipe. It rose very well over night but in the morning I only had one official bread pan in metal and one square casserole dish so I used those. At a friend's suggestion I turned on my oven to 175 and when it reached that temp turned it off and put the loaves in to rise while I went to work. When I came home one had risen beautifully and the other had not. The one in the metal pan was flat and "sad looking". I went ahead and baked the risen one and transferred the other to another glass "meatloaf" pan. I left it on top of the stove while cooking dinner and it rose beautifully too! I baked the other and they both came out great! In light of this, I recommend not using metal to bake in; there was no other difference between the two. I believe this could have been SEWON's problem. I'm thrilled to announce I've successfully made my first bread and can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd0224

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States