Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made this recipe years ago using the potato flake starter and it was soft, slightly tangy/slightly sweet sourdough bread. I made it again yesterday into today using King Arthur Flour sourdough starter and it was so aggresively sour my dog won't eat it! If you are making this bread for the first time, use her starter recipe, too. Even the "wicked bad" loaf rose well and had great texture. This is a keeper recipe as long as your sourdough isn't an agressive breed :-) If you have a more agressive starter, edit the recipe to include 1 packet of yeast, and cut the rising time to 90 minutes instead of overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
The end result was a heck of a surprise. During the making process, I was sure that this was going to be a total failure, but I followed the recipe and WHAM, I ended up with some GREAT bread. Thanks Becky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is an excellent easy sourdough bread which is wonderful hot out of the oven but even better the next day toasted. Using a potato based starter does take a bit of time - I take my starter out, feed it, wait 8-10 hours, make the bread, let rise 8-10 hours, make loaves and 2nd rise but it's worth it. If your starter is slow, add a bit of yeast to jump start it. But time is what gives this bread such wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I used Becky's starter. Followed the directions for the starter and the bread to the letter. The dough never rose and was a giant hockey puck. I'm very disappointed. I tried it 2 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This bread turns out Great...but I do not think it is worth the trouble. Just make beer bread instead and save a week worth of trouble, and also you dont have to worry about accidentially giving yourself food poisioning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quinlan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My family devoured it! I cut back to 1/4C sugar because others had mentioned it being too sweet. It turned out just right! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This recipe quadrupled over night. Note to self, buy bigger loaf pans. It overflowed the baking pans. I only have a small loaf pan. It makes a lot of bread and Im gonna need bigger pans cause I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORAKIART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Use flat beer in place of water when mixing dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurelinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I've used this recipe for several years now, and it has never failed me. (I looked it up because mine got misplaced) If you have never used it, you should know that you have to add more flour sometimes to get the right consistency. I think the humidity of your house has a lot to do with that. Also, sometimes the starter has to be revamped with a little yeast if it has been in the fridge for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bamacook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States