Sour Cream and Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I love this recipe, I make it every week for my kids' lunches. I use all purpose flour and this recipe delivers! You can add anything into this recipe and it turns out. I throw chia seeds in with the water, and add ground flax seed as well. I mix half sour cream and half yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TanyaZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Strong flavor - ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This bread came out pretty well. On the advice of others, I made the following changes. I used 2 cups of wheat flour and 1 of white flour. I am not sure this was entirely necessary, though. Second, I doubled the onion soup mix and the bread came out nice and onion-y. One thing, if you double the soup mix, no need to add the salt. Lastly, I did not use a bread maker, I just mixed by hand. Very tasty and dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very moist for a ww bread, but it does taste like ww, so the bf isn't going to go for this one. I like it, though, so I'll call it a success. I added about 2 1/2 tbs of wheat gluten, and I'm pretty sure it wouldn't have risen well at all without it. I made my own Onion Soup Mix. Works wonderfully! I don't usually bake in the bread machine, and I decided not to again today. I just used the dough cycle and baked in the oven at 375 for 40 min after allowing to rise for about 30 minutes in a 200 degree oven. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather K.
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made this last night to go with some homemade beef stew my husband made. It went really great together! It is a very rich bread, so not something I would want all the time, but it was great with the stew. I did make a few changes. I used half bread flour & half whole wheat, as suggested by other reviewers. I also added 4 tsp. of vital wheat gluten to help it rise. I didn't have wheat germ, so that was omitted. We will definitely make this bread again. It would also make great rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Very dense bread. Not the flavor I was expecting. Mine rose nicely, but then colapsed toward the end of the baking cycle. Sorry, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Even though I adapted this recipe a little, I give it 5 stars. It is unique and delicious! I add some sauteed onions and also some onion flkes to make it more "onionny" since many reviewers said it wasn't. Mine turned out with a great aroma AND great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This was a good bread recipe, although I agree with some reviewers that the onion soup mix smelled good, but the taste just wasn't there in the finished product (and my kids didnt' like the chunks of onion, or the idea of onions in bread). I made the recipe again without the soup mix, and ended up with a delicious, soft and tender whole wheat bread that was perfect with honey or apple butter. I made it into rolls and they freeze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Nice texture, moist - even the next day. But I didn't care for the flavor. It wasn't what I expected, not nearly as much onion flavor as I would have wanted. The kids ate it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This is so good! For the recipe I added one cup white flour and one cup wwheat. But I will have to add some more onion next time. I used 1/4 of a cup and it wasn't enough,we wanted a strong onion flavour. But it was super moist, DH toasted it in the morning as well. I baked it in the oven as requested because my bread maker is for a 2 pound loaf, so i didn't want to over bake it in my bread maker. It is so good, will for sure make it again! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States