Sour Cream and Chive Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I've made many types of rolls before this, and I would say the taste of this one is pretty similar to the ones I like to make, which is why it got 4 stars. However, I do think it needs to be kneaded before being left to rise. I'm assuming that the recipe instructs you to put the dough in the fridge because it contains sour cream, but every recipe I've read says that cool temperatures make it harder for bread to rise. Mine didn't end up rising at all, even after being left overnight, and as a result, the rolls were very small and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
made this into crescents with an overflow of chives from the garden. a most forgiving dough. i did flour my board before rolling out. forgot to give them a second rise and just baked and they were very light, tender and tasty. it is a VERY SWEET dough. sugar could be cut. i will make again cutting back on the sugar. a brush of butter with some sprinkled cheese would be nice too. this could easily make itself an hors d'ouerves with the addition of a slice of cheese and meat rolled in before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
These rolls have a very good flavor and are very light in texture. The smaller size is perfect and in line with the concept of utilizing smaller portions. I would strongly recommend a lower over temperature of 350 degrees and a shorter baking time. If you are using the newer insulated baking pans, do not grease the pans as the rolls will tend to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
perfect. melted butter on top before and after cooking. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Nice rolls. Yes, the dough is sticky, but you can always add flour. These have a nice flavor and although I didn't do the crescents bc I wanted bread and regular rolls, I can see how these would be good that way. I thought these had a nice flavor and a firm crumb. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Good flavor and being my first bread making experience, really easy! They were a hit and were requested again :) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
My only change was to halve the recipe and not shape in crescent roll. I just made golf ball sized rounds. I did refrigerate overnight and I don't think the dough rose at all. I took the bowl out the refrigerator and let it sit at room temperature about 2 hours before shaping. The rolls taste "off" to me. They are soft and tender. I'm not sure I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by melissasanchez35
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Recipe is fantastic. For what it's worth, I had used light sour cream (girl's gotta watch the ever expanding wasitline from eating yummy food) Couple of suggestions: 1. Proof yeast in warm water before adding to other ingredients. 2. I had mix the ingredients in my kitchen aid mixer with the 'stir' function. When dough has formed, beat it with medium speed for about 2-5min (check dough often. Once indentation remains, it's done) 3. Refridgerate until dough is workable. My suggestion is to lighly flour the work surface to prevent sticking. Also, I lined my work surface with wax paper when i work with sticky dough. 4. Follow recipe instructions and let the shaped dough rise. Just leave it to rise till doubled in size and then bake. The results are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These are the best rolls. I won Grand Champion with them at our local fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I have become very familiar with any type of dough and was surprised to find that this one didn't rise at all when taken out of the fridge! Although convenient because there is barely any kneading involved, I found the rolls very bland. I waited until the first batch was finished before dealing with the rest of the dough and am glad I did so. I added a touch of Thyme and a TBSP of garlic to each of the remaining 3 rounds before throwing them in...more flavour, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peachland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States