Sour Cream and Chive Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
These rolls got rave reviews at Thanksgiving dinner. Much more popular than the wheat rolls I also made. I used Lite Sour Cream and didn't refrigerate the dough overnight. I allowed the dough to rise for 1 hour, then formed the crescent rolls and allowed them to rise for an additional hour before baking. The rolls had a nice soft texture, with a bit of tang from the sour cream and great chive flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Great recipe! Excellent light and airy. So easy. These will be on the Thanksgiving table this year. Tip for those that have had difficulty. Do not over mix this dough. It will be a little sticky, don't add more flour. After the rise over night the dough will be easier to handle. I got about 34 good sized rolls and they were all gobbled up before I got a chance to freeze any. This is a keeper. Thanks. I made these again for a catered event yesterday. I used dried chives, bacon bits and grated Cheddar cheese. Formed into 2 oz buns. Filled with egg salad. They were amazing. Not one sandwich left! Thanks again. BTW, 2 oz buns yeilded 24 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
YUM!! I wasn't sure if you'd really be able to taste the sour cream and chives but you definitely can. I think the sour cream makes the rolls very tender. So I threw everything in my bread machine and let it mix everything, then refrigerated as the recipe states. I think when I make these again, I'll skip the refrigeration part and just make basic roll shapes instead of forming the crescents, it would be much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeff
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
If I could give a slightly more detailed rating, I would give this a 5 minus. These were definately better than "pretty good" (which is my 4 star rating) but I have a couple small comments for improvement. First, I did not expect them to be so dinky... timy little rolls - sort of a "tasty treat" size. And secondly, they were soft throughout - like a dense, really good hot dog bun. I am new to bread making (my first try) so I do not know what would give the consistency I expected but just wished these had more of a crust or at least a distinction from outer to inner. As it never claimed this I would not mark it down - just an observation. Taste was great. The overall texture I enjoyed too. Still trying to get my brain around the return on my time investment tho... But I am willing to keep plugging away at that concept though after making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My son loved these rolls! even volunteered to help me make them. Great use for those chives that are so easy to grow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Incredibly easy, and a WONDERFUL end result. Rolls were tender,soft, and had a delicate flavor. Very easy to make. Be careful not to get the sour cream too hot, or it can curdle. Quantity is wrong on the recipe - if you divide the dough into 4 pcs, and cut each one into 10 wedges, you get 40 pcs. I used my pizza cutter to easily cut the wedges. This recipe will be a filed with my 'it's a keeper' recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Very good rolls. None of my grocery stores had fresh chives so I substituted dried ones. I think it would have been much better with the fresh as it didn't have much of the chive flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Excellent and easy for a first timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xannthippe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
These were incredibly popular at my dinner party of 20. Quite a few people asked me for the recipe or begged me to make them again. Be aware that the recipe doesn't make 50 rolls (I made 32).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
These came out okay, but were not as flavorful as I thought they'd be. I may try the recipe again, in case I messed something up, but I was a bit disappointed. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States