Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
My guests raved about the flavor and texture of the potatoes. I did add a pinch of onion & garlic powder. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
These have really become a household favorite. It's similar to a recipe I've used before with sliced green olives. I used scallions, light sour cream, and yukon gold potatoes. Seemed funny not to use butter, but it was not missed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
These were very good - We had them with BBQ Baby back pork Ribs. Great side dish, would go good with any kind of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This turned out pretty good! They were very smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Steioff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I made these potatoes for a dinner party I held last night and they were pretty good (but not incredible). The proportions of milk/sour cream/potatoes was just perfect. I felt that the potatoes could have used a lot more chives though - like double the amount called for. The sour cream flavour was definitely there as a background note, but not at all overpowering, so if you're looking for more flavour in that area, I'd sub out some of the milk and add more sour cream. I may make these again because they were good and they looked nice on the plate with the little flecks of green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I thought this was really tasty considering this is my first time making any sort of mashed potatoes. Although a lot of my guest didn't like chives, I'd recommend offering those seperate because some don't want it in there. Otherwise very good with yukon gold!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These were pretty good! A little bland, DEFINITELY add salt, pepper and butter to make it better. I used whipped cream cheese with chives instead of sour cream and chives...and I sprinkled fresh chives on the top. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
My entire family loved this recipe even my husband who had to eat it reheated. It was sooo creamy and delicious. I added 3 Tbsp butter and used dried chives instead of fresh. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was a great recipe - easy to follow and delicious!! I made one slight change, because I didn't have any fresh chives - so I used french onion dip instead of plain sour cream - it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
These are good potatoes. I used yellow Finns instead of Yukons (store didn't have Yukons), light sour cream and 1% milk, but not as much as called for. I loved the fresh chives in these. Make sure to add a little salt and pepper- it really brings out the mild flavor of the chives and sour cream. Had these with Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks (this site) and it was such a delicous meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States