Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by LWS07
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
These were great, I really liked the chives and sour cream flavor. I boiled the potatoes the night before Thanksgiving and then mashed them and did the rest the next day. So the potatoes were warm, I thought I'd warm up the milk and sour cream before mixing in. The sour cream looked nasty after warming, so I ended up just adding that in cold after all. So in order to make them hot, I put the fully mixed potatoes into a casserole, covered with tin foil, in the oven for 10-15 min on 350 (had something else cooking at that temp, so just put this in along with the other thing). That worked well, as the potatoes weren't dry when I took them out. I added a lot more chives to the potatoes than called for b/c I really like chives. I cut them with kitchen scissors (works great so long as the chives aren't wet) and mixed them with the potatoes when I added the sour cream. I then also garnished with a few remaining sprigs when I took the potatoes out of the oven. I think next time I may try adding a tbs of butter just to see how that tastes, but otherwise, I think these were great. Everyone at my Thanksgiving liked them a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
The best mashed potatoes ever!!! So creamy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
These potatoes are good. They came out creamy and smooth, which was great. The flavor was nice, but didn't blow me away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
these were so simple and quick to make :) .... they were full of flavour adn especially great if you don't have a lot of time for dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
These were so simple and delicious! I made a double batch and I did add 1/4 cup of butter with plenty of salt to taste and white pepper. They came out flavorful and creamy. My whole family loved them. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
These were good - but not GREAT. I added quite a bit of pepper to liven them up, and then even a little garlic powder. Hubby said he shouldve put butter on his, but we ate them plain. I would probably stick with my other favorite mashed potato recipe on here, Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These were awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Mm, these were good! I was worried going into this recipe that the potatoes would have too much of a sour cream-y taste, but it was really quite mellow. It ended up being the chives that dominated the flavor. I heated up my milk and sour cream together before adding it to the potatoes. (Adding cold liquid to hot taters can make them gummy! Ew.) All in all, I don't know if I'll make them again. I won't be getting up in the night for them. But they were decently tasty, simple to make, and were a change from the normal 'plain' potatoes. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was delicious. I used with red potatoes and left the skin on and I added lots of garlic. So rich and creamy. Took it to someone's going away party and everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
One of my favorite ways to dress up leftover mashed potatoes, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States