Sour Cream Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Excellent!Fluffy and flavorful. My husband was skeptical at first but quickly ate his words along with most of the waffles. These have become a staple at my house. The only change I made was using vanilla yogurt instead of plain because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I was skeptical about this recipe, but I let my son pick and this is the one he chose. My skepticism soon disappeared. These were very good and all the kids really liked them. I used fat free sour cream and nonfat plain yogurt. I left out the vinegar and added vanilla as other reviews suggested. I also used an egg substitute. After cooking about half the batch I added some sugar to the remaining batter. I really don't think it made much of a difference though. We will definitely make these again. Next time I will try vanilla yogurt instead of plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I had some sour cream to use up so I tried this instead of my usual waffle recipe. I made a couple of changes based on what I had on hand and personal preferences. I used 1 cup w.w. flour and 1 cup a.p. flour, strawberry yogurt, about half the amount of salt called for and 1 tsp vanilla. These were very good fresh off the waffle maker, but if they sat for a minute or two they became chewy. I prefer a crispy waffle so I popped mine in the toaster for a few seconds and that solved the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
These were really good. My two year olds even ate them! I made a couple of changes after looking at the reviews. I actually used low fat milk instead of water. I used half wheat flour and half all purpose flour. I used vanilla yogurt, and vanilla instead of the vinegar. I topped them with applesauce, a little lite syrup and some cinnamon. Yum! I loved that they were more healthy than regular waffles! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Yummy! I used vanilla yogurt because we always have that on hand. I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and left out the vinegar. So delicious and creamy - just like a previous reviewer said! Much better than a mix from a box and not at all difficult to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
My husband ADORED these, while I was only moderately fond of them. To each his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Wow - I loved these. Light, fluffy & very tasty. They didn't crisp up but my waffle maker doesn't really crisp waffles very well. I thought my yogurt was plain but it was vanilla, so I had a little sugar & vanilla added. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Made with all yogurt, half wheat flour, and vanilla instead of vinegar. They came out light and tasty. Served with sliced strawberries. Thanks for a healthier waffle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I made these with 1 C low-fat plain yogurt and no sour cream, plus 1 t vanilla and no vinegar. They were a tinsy bit chewy - easier to eat with your hands or with a knife - but still tasted good. The recipe is easy enough but they are just average waffles, nothing special, so I rated it a 3. But it's handy when you're out of milk. I think they'll be fine toasted tomorrow too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I definetely didn't think this waffle recipe was anything special. It definetely was lacking something. I added a little sugar after I tasted the first waffle. It wasn't bad but I will keep trying other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States