Sour Cream Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by TeamSeabron
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great waffles. Nice and fluffy. I included the vinegar others left out (figured it was probably a chemical reaction thing) but also added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1 tbsp sugar when I blended in the eggs. Next time I make them I'll be sure to cook them a smidge longer so they're a little crispier and they'll be perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Tasty! The only change I made was to add 1 tsp. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These were delicious! My husband said, "Waffles didn't really sound good to me, but these are great!" then proceeded to eat two of them. :) Changes: I A) used maple yogurt instead of plain to punch up the flavor - yum!, B) added a tsp. of vanilla, C) substituted half whole wheat flour, and D) added about a tsp. of cinnamon sugar. I'll absolutely make these again. These were a great way to welcome in the new year. Happy 2010!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I liked the easiness of this recipe, but the flavor didn't have me wowed. Perhaps trying a vanilla flavored yogurt would have lent more flavor and sweetness, but I only had plain yogurt on hand, so per the recipe, that's what I used. Not sure what the vinegar does? This recipe gives a more cake-y waffle, not airy and light. Since it does not call for sugar, it is probably a better waffle to have with heaping spoonfuls of sliced fresh fruit, berries, and whipped topping. Because it was easy and uses ingredients I always have on hand, I'm saving it, but will make modifications to our preferences in the future. A very creative way to make waffles without buttermilk or milk though! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules the Happy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was great! I added a tsp of vanilla, used lowfat vanilla yogurt and a tsb of sugar. These came out nice and crisp on the outside and soft in the inside. Tip is to spray the waffle maker with each pour of batter to get it crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbaum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I agree with 1JOHN513, THESE WAFFLES WERE EXCELLENT! My husband is still asking me how did I make waffles without milk (it'll be my secret). Added a little sugar, vanilla, and used Greek yogurt--YUMMY! Oh the things you can do without milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
These waffles were very good. I can't understand what there was NOT to like---I didn't even pick up on any tang from the sour cream or yogurt! I did find the batter very thick, so thinned it w/ a little water and also added a T of oil so they wouldn't stick. They cooked up beautifully and I served them to my family for dinner last night and toasted the leftovers for my son this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
i really wanted to like these after reading all the reviews, but i could barely stand to eat a waffle if it didn't have any topping on it, i just found the flavor very odd....they did fluff up nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Wouldn't make it again. Added some sugar, but it didn't seem to make a difference. Just wasn't that good. Below average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These were very yummy!!! I too added some vanilla and a couple of TBs of sugar...although, probably leave out sugar next time, I don't think they needed it. My waffles we crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. Very nice texture! The other adjustment I made was to sub 1/2 whole wheat flour and make the all purpose 1 and 1/2 cups. I would recommend giving these a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States