Sour Cream Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Amazing! I was out of milk, had weevils in my easy waffle mix and this was a life saver! I even used light sour cream and fat free plain yogurt and they came out amazing. I did make a few adjustments: I omitted vinegar I added 1/2 tsp vanilla I also added 1/4 cup brown sugar Wonderful. Thanks so much Holly George! You saved dinner time!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Wow, these are good. A few tips. First do NOT SKIP the vinegar. This is what adds lightness to the dough, and you can't taste it at all - it is a chemical reaction you need to give you light, fluffy waffles. Second, keep the fat of your sour cream/yogurt in mind. Full fat will need more water added to the batter, while low or fat free will need less water to get the right consistency. Also, because I like my waffles this way I added 3 Tbsp of demerara sugar (i.e. Sugar in the Raw) which adds a little sweetness, a little crunch. These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I didn't have any yogurt or white vinegar, so I just used double the sour cream. I also added some vanilla extract. I really liked the flavor and texture of these; they tasted like and felt like crepes, but they were waffle-shaped. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This is a keeper ! Quick, Easy and Great tasting. Followed recipe as far as adding the vinegar, as I believe the reaction between the little bit of vinegar and the baking soda gives it the lightness some have thought they were missing, also took advice from some of the other reviewers and used vanilla yogurt and added a tsp of vanilla and got light airy waffles with great flavor. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
These were very good. I agree with other reviewers that they start out crispy on the outside but get chewy quickly. That said, I only used half the batter the first day, so the next day when I used the second half, I left them in a little longer and they stayed nicely crisped. They went from a B to an A+ on the second day. I think it might have been from the batter sitting overnight as well as the longer cooking time. The only change I made was to sub about 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour. Next time I might try adding vanilla like other reviewers suggested, but I would not eliminate the vinegar, I think the chemical reaction makes the batter so light and fluffy and really delicious. My boys liked these a lot with agave nectar, not so much with fruit and whipped cream. Since the batter isn't sweet, it helps to have a sweet topper for the waffles (although I actually like them plain). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I thought these were great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TeamSeabron
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great waffles. Nice and fluffy. I included the vinegar others left out (figured it was probably a chemical reaction thing) but also added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1 tbsp sugar when I blended in the eggs. Next time I make them I'll be sure to cook them a smidge longer so they're a little crispier and they'll be perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Tasty! The only change I made was to add 1 tsp. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These were delicious! My husband said, "Waffles didn't really sound good to me, but these are great!" then proceeded to eat two of them. :) Changes: I A) used maple yogurt instead of plain to punch up the flavor - yum!, B) added a tsp. of vanilla, C) substituted half whole wheat flour, and D) added about a tsp. of cinnamon sugar. I'll absolutely make these again. These were a great way to welcome in the new year. Happy 2010!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I liked the easiness of this recipe, but the flavor didn't have me wowed. Perhaps trying a vanilla flavored yogurt would have lent more flavor and sweetness, but I only had plain yogurt on hand, so per the recipe, that's what I used. Not sure what the vinegar does? This recipe gives a more cake-y waffle, not airy and light. Since it does not call for sugar, it is probably a better waffle to have with heaping spoonfuls of sliced fresh fruit, berries, and whipped topping. Because it was easy and uses ingredients I always have on hand, I'm saving it, but will make modifications to our preferences in the future. A very creative way to make waffles without buttermilk or milk though! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules the Happy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States