Sour Cream Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I was looking for a waffle recipe without milk (we were out) and found this delicious mix! I did make just a couple of changes. As I didn't have plain yogurt, I used a lemon cream pie Yoplait yogurt and it was phenomonal. I also added in a splash of vanilla and a splash of almond extract. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
5 stars for being able to make waffles without milk! we ran out of milk but really wanted some waffles for Saturday and found this recipe. Incidentally, I have a tub of sour cream that needed to be used up. I ended up using 1 cup of sour cream (as I didn't have any yogurt), 1/2 cup WW flour and 1 1/2 cup AP flour. It was great! I noticed that there weren't any sugar in the recipe and didn't mind it at all because it is not as if we don't already put enough syrup/whipped cream on the waffles! Thank you for an ingenious waffles recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Fabulous! Made these to use up my sour cream and plain yogurt. They turned out really good! Husband wants vanilla added to them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
More like 4.5 stars really. I doubled the recipe and used a container of vanilla yogurt and subbed half whole wheat flour for all the ap. I got six waffles on my belgian waffle maker this way. I took a family poll of this recipe vs my normal go-to and this won hands down. DH really liked that they were nice and moist and didn't suck up all the syrup like my normal recipe. I think I've found a new go-to. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
The perfect breakfast in a pinch when you're all outta milk. I used whole wheat flour and added a touch of vanilla. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I just got my first waffle maker and this was the recipe I decided to try. I used fat free sour cream, fat free vanilla yogurt, and egg beaters, as that is what I had on hand. Very good...the kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
excellent! nice texture. I substituted one cup of whole wheat flour, and it came out delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Not bad for basic, very light and fluffy (I used vinegar). I added vanilla, cinnamon, cloves, and 1T sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Great flavor! I took other reviewers opinions and used vanilla yogurt [actually Honey Vanilla Greek yogurt] and added vanilla - yum! The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that I wish the outside stayed crispier longer....they softened up fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great waffles! We were out of milk, so this recipe was perfect. I had to sub 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the all purpose (I was almost out of flour too). The only yogurt I had was blueberry, so that gave the waffles just a hint of blueberry flavor. Also added 1 tsp of vanilla. Great flavor and texture. Hubby and 2 yr old loved them too. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States