Sour Cream Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by debberzz
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great recipe. I used vanilla Greek yogurt, which was on hand in the fridge. I added a splash of vanilla & a couple tsp of clarified butter. **Be aware that this batter really puffs up in the waffle iron. I found I needed less batter to make a waffle. With strawberries macerated in sugar & lemon juice & sliced bananas & warm maple syrup...DELISH! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
These were alright. They had a light texture which was nice, but were not crispy which we were looking for. Also, they had very little flavor. I added vanilla and a little brown sugar too. Next time will need to add much more to give these some oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
We liked this alternate recipe for waffles from our regular buttermilk recipe. My husband loves raspberry flavor so I decided to take a raspberry twist here with these yogurt waffles. I used raspberry yogurt, the sour cream and milk instead of water to make a richer, thicker waffle. I did use the vinegar because I know that makes for a richer waffle, as it will thicken (sour) the milk based ingredients...you never taste the vinegar...don't delete this ingredient. For more flavor, I added a splash of vanilla extract and about a tablespoon of sugar. In keeping with the raspberry flavor, I made a quick raspberry syrup in a saucepan using raspberry preserves, a bit of honey and a small amount of orange juice. The syrup was sweet, hot and full of raspberry flavor for our raspberry yogurt waffles. Rounded out this breakfast with sides of sausage, hard boiled eggs, raspberry yogurt with a berry garnish to keep the theme going. Oh, and juice, of course! What a great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
ok, not great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Best waffle recipe on the whole site! Crispy outside, fluffy and soft inside! From start to finish of the entire double batch I made! Thank you for this recipe! It's my new favorite! I've always made my waffles and pancakes from scratch and after trying several waffle recipes over the years I've finally been lucky enough to try this one! My sons loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
really good, used whole wheat flour, batter was thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe is delicious. We made these following the directions exactly and they are smooth and not dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Buescher-Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this for my husband's birthday when I couldn't find the one his mum had given us. I was a little worried he wouldn't like it as much, but he thought it was better than his mum's recipe! The waffles were great! Thicker than our normal recipe, so we'll set our temperature higher next time (I think it was set on medium heat before). Oh, and I didn't have yogurt (since my hubby doesn't like it) so I used 3/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup milk. My mum even liked it as well and she's not a huge waffle fan. :) Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitemousie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Delicious and easy. I halved the recipe, used three quarters nonfat greek yogurt and one quarter regular sour cream, and substituted vanilla rice milk for the water. I also added a bit of vanilla and a handful of frozen blueberries to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
How nice to find a waffle recipe that doesn't include butter and sugar! I substituted whole wheat flour, vanilla for the white wine vinegar and used 1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. Great protein packed breakfast especially if you're watching your sugar and fat. My husband and I substitute diced peaches for maple syrup. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States