Sour Cream Turkey Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made these with left overs after thanksgiving. I tweaked the recipe a tad - first I added cumin powder, chili powder and a touch of brown sugar to the sauce to give it more of a mole flavor. Also, to the turkey/sour cream/cheddar mixture I added more chili powder and some diced black olives for added flavor. The enchiladas were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was a hit with my turkey loving family. Although the turkey flavour might have been a bit heavy for the mild flavour of the cheese and sour cream, the sauce was amazing with yellow pepper instead of jalapeno. I will definitely make this again (as an alternative to the use-up-the-leftover-turkey pot pie).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I have a very similar recipe that I make all the time. It is slightly easier with similar results. When making the sauce, cook together 1 cup Chicken Broth and about a 1/2 cup of salsa (hot or mild, whatever you like). Once it's hot, add a rounded tablespoon of cornstarch, blended into a few tablespoons of cold water. Bring to a boil and cook about 2 minutes stirring constantly. Reduces the amount of cutting and chopping and saves a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brackenridge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is fantastic. Just the right amount of moisture. I read the reviews that said it was bland, and added about 1/2 tsp chili flakes, but that made it a bit too hot. Next time I'll use 1/4 tsp chili flakes. Also, I used about 2 tbsp of flour instead of 1 tbsp. The sour cream is a lovely contrast to the spiciness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was excellent! I would however add more sour cream due to the fact of reheating, it was kinda dry when doing that. Deffinately add more cheese too. The sauce was easy, make extra if you like it really covered. I doubled this recipe and it made 2 large pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omorfia777

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was good. I used fat-free sour cream and increased the turkey so that I could make 6 enichiladas instead of 4. There was enough sauce, too. I might try crushed tomatoes instead of the diced--my DH likes tomato sauces but not chunks of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allan Gray
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe is awesome! Living in Canada I can't find good Tex Mex anywhere and this brought it home. I used a can of ROTEL tomatoes (with chiles) then added some velveeta cheese (half a small block) to the sauce and the family was all over it. Great with the spanish rice recipe on this site too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan Gray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
The turkey and sour cream mixture was good, but it was too tomatoey. Not enough seasonings, so I added cilanto and cumin. The flour tortillas got soggy so if I try the recipe again, I'll use corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made these with turkey left over from A/ R Slow Cooker Turkey Breast. They have GREAT flavor and I will definitly make them again. When I began preparing the recipe I put the tomatoes in a strainer to drain and continuously "shook" the strainer while making the rest of the dish. My problem was that the enchiladas were soggy and when I plated them the tomato topping slid right off the top. Next time I will use 14 oz diced tomatoes and fresh tomatoes for the remaining 14 oz. Again, great flavor and good for leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great use of the dreaded left over turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Frank

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States