Sour Cream Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
I made this for a large party. I made the cookie layers and froze them for 2 weeks. The day before the party I put it all together. It was absolutely wonderful. No one would ever guess how it is made. Even though people were stuffed with food, they made room for this. It might be the best dessert I've ever made. Next time I would put it together a couple of days in advance because it got even better as it seasoned. I think the cookie layers would freeze forever, and I froze the left overs for a week. It was great when defrosted. Try it, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
This was a great recipe. Our family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYGIRL23
Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Don't turn away from this recipe because you think its difficult! It is not! The dough is very easy to work with. I cut out parchment circles slightly larger than 9 inches. I also used a 9 inch paper plate as a guide. I baked 2 at a time on the cookie sheet. This does taste better after 2 to 3 days in the frig. Very impressive!!! Should be more than 5 stars!!!! I have made it twice this week! Thanks a million Brenda!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Too much work for "so-so" results. Difficult to cut and equally difficult to eat. The filling was good, I think I'll try to use the filling in a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M. Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
really one to try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
great recipe, gets better as its sits i made 24 hours ahead but think optimum is 48
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This is easy to make and had an unusual but unique shape when I got through with it! We liked it, and I'm sure it'll be even better tomorrow (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I've waited over 24 hours for the torte to meld and become delicious but it just isn't. It's like one big, wet sugar cookie. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I made this for a party and everyone loved it. The hardest part is rolling out the layers, because the dough is so stiff. I found that the last portions I rolled out were easier, because the butter had softened some; and I also found it helpful to press out and shape the dough with my hands before using a rolling pin, just to keep the edges from cracking so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
While NOT my favorite dessert- it's gotten rave reviews around dh's office many times. I'm making again this week- definitely a keeper. It IS alot of work- I started rolling parts flat to a dusted cake pan bottom and just trimming around them to save time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States