Sour Cream Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
the torte tastes like a cross between pecan pie and those little danish butter cookies. If you like either of those, you'll LOVE this dessert. Making the cookie layers was a little difficult because I don't have a cookie sheet without edges. So I rolled out the 9in circle on wax paper and then slid the whole thing onto the cookie sheet and baked it that way; worked really well. After making the cookie layers it was very easy to assemble. The longer you let is sit in the fridge the better it gets. I'm the only one in my family that likes sweets, and when I divided the torte among friends two weeks after I made it they still raved about it. I definitely would make this again. I'm thinking about making little sour cream torte cookies using a cookie cutter and fewer layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterbuns
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I made six, 8-inch cookies instead, and that was plenty. I used the ring on my 8-inch spring form as a "cookie cutter" so all the layers would be uniform. I was about 1/2 cup short on sour cream, so I added a couple spoonfuls of whipped topping to the filling, and used pecans instead of walnuts. I left my last cookie on the pan too long, and could not get it off without crumbling, so my top layer was crumbled cookie pieces instead of a giant cookie. It looked so pretty this way, that I will do it again! I found that if I took the cookies off the pan after letting them cool for about two minutes that they were still pliable enough to remove with out breakage. Like other reviews said, it is good the next day, but even better the third and fourth! It is easy to cut, and the pieces hold up well. It is also one of the prettiest desserts I've seen. Especially when sliced. Fantastic! Thank you for sharing this Brenda. (my photo is the one with the crumbled top layer. I took the photo before dusting with powdered sugar, it looked even prettier after.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My cookie layer were very hard, had to leave 24 hours befor you could even eat it. And then it tasted so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkumbrella
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I loved making it! I didn't expect to be baking for 3 hours straight though, just keep that in mind so you aren't keeping the family waiting for their dessert. I kept a slice for 5 days though and it was really gross by the 4th day so I recommend either keeping it in the fridge until then or not leaving it out. Loved the recipe and will keep on baking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I entered this in a sour cream competition at the Iowa State Fair - you had to use 2 cups. I made it as written, but substituted pecans. I received 3rd place out of 20 entries. When I passed samples, the volunteers in the food department raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made this for dessert for Christmas dinner at my sister's house. I made it about 30 hours ahead of the time we served it and it was wonderful. I did have a bit of difficulty getting seven 9" cookies out of the recipe, but I was able to make it work. Next time I might try 8" cookies instead. In any event, I followed the recipe exactly, except I did use half low-fat sour cream and half regular. I also decorated the serving plate and the top of the torte with sugared cranberries and green decorating frosting to resemble holly berries and leaves. Pretty on the "snow" of the powdered sugar. This got raves from all, and I personally loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
While NOT my favorite dessert- it's gotten rave reviews around dh's office many times. I'm making again this week- definitely a keeper. It IS alot of work- I started rolling parts flat to a dusted cake pan bottom and just trimming around them to save time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I made this for a party and everyone loved it. The hardest part is rolling out the layers, because the dough is so stiff. I found that the last portions I rolled out were easier, because the butter had softened some; and I also found it helpful to press out and shape the dough with my hands before using a rolling pin, just to keep the edges from cracking so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I've waited over 24 hours for the torte to meld and become delicious but it just isn't. It's like one big, wet sugar cookie. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This is easy to make and had an unusual but unique shape when I got through with it! We liked it, and I'm sure it'll be even better tomorrow (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States