Sour Cream Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
FINALLY! This was exactly what I was looking for... puffy thick, but melt in your mouth soft. Great flavor. I used 1 2/3 C Sour Cream and cooked for 11 min. I chilled dough for 1 1/5 hrs prior to rolling. I also chilled cut outs for 7 minutes prior to cooking. Roll out thick, use good amount of flour to roll. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
LOVE LOVE LOVE these! I only used 1 2/3 cups of sour cream and I iced them with a lemon icing recipe I found here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This sugar cookie is what the description claims it is. It is soft, puffs up, and has cake-like texture. I am giving it a five because I have tried over six different recipes in attempt to find one that would produce a puffy cookie similiar to the big thick sugar cookies commonly sold at grocercy store bakeries. While this cookie is a little lighter than the bakery cookie, it is very close. Also, the dough rolled out fine (it sat 2 hours in the freezer and I used plenty of flour to roll it out). After cutting out my cookies, I placed them in the freezer for an additional 7 minutes. They held their shape beautifully and had optimal height. Note: I did decrease the sour cream from 2 cups to 1 2/3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
This recipe is GREAT! I made it for my son's 2nd birthday party as favors (Elmo cookies) and I can't even tell you how many people have gotten the recipe from me for these cookies. They are incredible! I agree with the other review that they are like those delicious bakery cookies. I can't get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I've been looking for years for a recipe that comes close to one that my best friend's mom had when we were kids....and I finally found one! These cookies are great! Not for those who want a crisp hard cookie. These are soft and fluffy. Yes, the dough was a bit sticky, but I just made sure I had enough extra flour when rolling them out. I also used only 1 2/3 c sour cream. I made them a little thick, so that the kids could decorate them a little easier, and had to bake them a minute or two longer. This will be a treasured treat in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Very good cookies. I did add 2t. nutmeg and 1t. lemon juice to the dough to add flavor. I thought that the dough was easy to work with and I had no trouble handling the dough with my hands. Everyone that had a cookie loved them. I frosted the cookies with buttercream and added sprinkles on top. They were a hit! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe!! It is as close as I have seen t my great-great grandmothers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I LOVE IT! I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR SOMETHING SIMILAR TO WHAT I HAD AS A KID AND THIS IS IT. WILL MAKE AGAIN AND AGAIN! I USE A LITTLE LESS SOUR CREAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Wow - very soft and they stay that way! These didn't last long in my house and I know it will be a recipe asked for often. I teamed this cookie up with the Almond Butter Frosting - wow - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very good taste. Good soft cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mc Bain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States