Sour Cream Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This dough is way too sticky! I tried adding extra flour but it doesn't work. I took the advice of others and used less sour cream but no matter what I did it's unworkable. It stuck to my counter. I chilled it over night. Made no difference. This was a nightmare mess getting off my counter. I wouldn't recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Really like the recipe, and have used it a few times. A few things to note with my best batch, I did add a bit more flour and also used BUTTER FLAVORED shortening. Made a huge difference in the flavor. I could eat these without frosting all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The cookies tasted fine when they were baked, but the dough was so sticky I had to wash my hands a million times. I let the dough chill in the freezer for 2.5 hours and tried it, very sticky, then put it in the fridge over night and still so darn sticky. Making Christmas cookies should be fun not this frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Has a nice light flavor and is fluffy, but is difficult to work with without using a lot of flour. This was after being refrigerated for 24 hours. Next time I will add additional flour when I make the recipe. Does not break easily when decorated with icing. Good lunch box cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is one of my favorite cookie recipes. The cookies are always a big hit! The dough can be quite sticky and difficult to work with, but I have found that two clicks of a cookie press will make a good sized cookie in different shapes. After two clicks, the dough needs to be pressed down a bit, because they puff during cooking. The last time that I made them, the baked cookies were sticking to the pan, so a little non-stick spray helped solve the problem. The only modification that I have made to the recipe is adding an extra cup of flour. This works everytime! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The taste was great I thought but needed more flour.. even after putting in the fridge all night...still tooo sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I just made these cookies, they taste good but were REALLY sticky, even after the chilling in the freezer. I ended up rolling it into a log and cutting them as icebox cookies. They were a little bland so if I make them next time I would add lemon as previously suggested. The one thing I did different was to mix icing sugar in with my flour when I rolled them out. This really helps cut through the flour taste. My boys enjoyed decorating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
In a word: BLAND. I will not use this recipe again. They are not horrid or inedible, and are definitely very cakey. They puffed up a lot. I read previous reviews - unfortunately after mixing the dough , but it did add fresh grated nutmeg to the multitude of flour (at least 1.5 cups) needed to incorporate during roll-out hoping to add some flavor. Icing helped a bit, but this is still not the dense, chewy, flavorful sugar cookie I am looking for. The search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I've been using this recipe for the past four years or so, with NOTHING but rave reviews! :) For those who are concerned with how the dough handles, simply refridgerating it elevates a lot of the stickiness when you first begin to handle it. The flavor of the dough is perfect for me since I frost them. Which is what these cookies seem to be intended for; however, if you arnt a frosing person adding nutmeg cinnamon and lemon add great flavor also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Fabulous cookie. Light and fluffy and not too sweet. I changed the servings to 24 and added about 3/4 of a cup of raisins. No need to ice with the raisns. They add just the right amont of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States