Sour Cream Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Not a cut-out cookie! Flavorful dough that was entirely too soft to roll, even after all day in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is absolutely the type of cookie I was looking for. Only change I made was adding a tad more flour and using 1/2 tsp almond extract and a 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. When I first put the dough together I really thought it was going to go wrong because it's a very sticky, loose dough. But when I make a recipe for the first time I try not to make major changes but I did feel it needed a tad more flour so I added another 2tbsp flour. Instead of refrigerating, I put the dough in the freezer for about 2 hours. I was more than surprised that it came out the perfect texture and was very easy to roll out too. So please do not make the mistake of adding an extraordinary amount of extra flour. This is probably why some are saying this is very biscuit-like. After rolling and cutting, they baked up perfectly, rising just enough to make them cakey. It's very hard to tell by looking that it is done baking so just set the timer for 10 minutes and trust it. They will not look browned but that doesn't mean they aren't done. As long at the tops are dry looking and look slightly "puffy" then they are done. These are rather plain on their own so frosting is almost necessary. I used a butter cream (3tbp butter, 1 tsp vanilla, ~3 tbsp milk, and powdered sugar to bind) I whipped my frosting longer than I normally would because I wanted to create an airy frosting. In the end they were yummy and perfect! On their own this is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This dough is way too sticky! I tried adding extra flour but it doesn't work. I took the advice of others and used less sour cream but no matter what I did it's unworkable. It stuck to my counter. I chilled it over night. Made no difference. This was a nightmare mess getting off my counter. I wouldn't recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Really like the recipe, and have used it a few times. A few things to note with my best batch, I did add a bit more flour and also used BUTTER FLAVORED shortening. Made a huge difference in the flavor. I could eat these without frosting all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The cookies tasted fine when they were baked, but the dough was so sticky I had to wash my hands a million times. I let the dough chill in the freezer for 2.5 hours and tried it, very sticky, then put it in the fridge over night and still so darn sticky. Making Christmas cookies should be fun not this frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Has a nice light flavor and is fluffy, but is difficult to work with without using a lot of flour. This was after being refrigerated for 24 hours. Next time I will add additional flour when I make the recipe. Does not break easily when decorated with icing. Good lunch box cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is one of my favorite cookie recipes. The cookies are always a big hit! The dough can be quite sticky and difficult to work with, but I have found that two clicks of a cookie press will make a good sized cookie in different shapes. After two clicks, the dough needs to be pressed down a bit, because they puff during cooking. The last time that I made them, the baked cookies were sticking to the pan, so a little non-stick spray helped solve the problem. The only modification that I have made to the recipe is adding an extra cup of flour. This works everytime! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The taste was great I thought but needed more flour.. even after putting in the fridge all night...still tooo sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I just made these cookies, they taste good but were REALLY sticky, even after the chilling in the freezer. I ended up rolling it into a log and cutting them as icebox cookies. They were a little bland so if I make them next time I would add lemon as previously suggested. The one thing I did different was to mix icing sugar in with my flour when I rolled them out. This really helps cut through the flour taste. My boys enjoyed decorating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Neunherz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
In a word: BLAND. I will not use this recipe again. They are not horrid or inedible, and are definitely very cakey. They puffed up a lot. I read previous reviews - unfortunately after mixing the dough , but it did add fresh grated nutmeg to the multitude of flour (at least 1.5 cups) needed to incorporate during roll-out hoping to add some flavor. Icing helped a bit, but this is still not the dense, chewy, flavorful sugar cookie I am looking for. The search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States