Sour Cream Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I used butter instead of margarine and they came out with a nice, soft texture with a great buttery flavor. I ended up putting the dough in the fridge and not baking them until two days later, and they still turned out really well. I used fresh grated nutmeg, too. We really love these cookies--the sour cream really makes them soft, and the nutmeg gives these a really nice subtle flavor. I'll make these from now on--they also kept their shape really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These cookies are great! They're very soft and stay that way for days. The dough is pretty hard to work with though. Make sure you do refrigerate it overnight. I roll my dough out on wax paper sprinkled with powedered sugar instead of flour. Too much flour will make them hard. I omitted the nutmeg and used 1 Tablespoon of orange rind. This gives the cookies a great flavor, and it smells so good! I prefer to frost them with a fluffy buttercream frosting flavored with vanilla or almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by liz
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I thought these were perfect cookies. I like them because they are not too sugary. I didn't think they were too bland. They were just right when you put a little frosting on them. I can see that they might not be as good if you didn't add a little frosting, but why wouldn't you? They held their shape well. We also didn't want to wait over night and stuck the dough in the freezer for a bit, and they worked pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great recipe! Two things: Use almond extract in place of vanilla; the flavor is heavenly. No exaggeration. And I used plain yogurt (I was out of our cream; it worked fine). One last thing: I used whole wheat flour (I use ww flour for everything.) And they turned out great. For the ww newcomer, you might try half white, half whole wheat. Any recipe with sour cream or yogurt in it is ideal for whole wheat; milk products keep whole wheat cookies soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This is VERY (granny's calls for 4 1/2 cups of flour)similar to the recipe my grandmother has made for decades. The nutmeg is the best part of these tasty cookies. It isn't Christmas without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I love this recipe! I use 4 cups of flour, instead of 5 to give them a bit more of a chewy texture. Sometimes I add 1/4 cup of lemon juice to give them a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHUGARPIE6
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I used this recipe to bake cookies for some friends and they were a huge hit! The cookies kept a great shape after baking and they stayed soft for several days (until they were all eaten ;). The nutmeg in the recipe is also a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I had misplaced my recipe for sugar cookies with sour cream. I think I have found a new family favorite. YUM! This is a tender, sweet with a hint of nutmeg cookie. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmendorf Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I have been searching for this recipe!!! It is delicious. An elderly lady used to make these for me and bring them into my workplace every Christmas, and they were always so wonderful!!! Unexpectedly she passed away and I was never able to ask her for her cherished recipe. Now I will think of her even more at the holiday time while I am making these with my children now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I loved these cookies!! They're REALLY good when you roll the cookies out thick. They reminded me of the Christmas cookies my family made when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States