Sour Cream Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I love this recipe! I use 4 cups of flour, instead of 5 to give them a bit more of a chewy texture. Sometimes I add 1/4 cup of lemon juice to give them a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I was trying to find a sour cream cookie recipe like my mom used to make. This seemed pretty close so I tried it. I did not care for this recipe at all. The nutmeg is overpowering and the cookie has a strange consistency. We made these on Christmas Eve last year and my 4 year old was afraid Santa wouldn't leave her any toys because the cookies were "so yucky". My mom has since found her old recipe and sent it to me. No more yucky cookies for Santa this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This is VERY (granny's calls for 4 1/2 cups of flour)similar to the recipe my grandmother has made for decades. The nutmeg is the best part of these tasty cookies. It isn't Christmas without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I used butter instead of margarine and they came out with a nice, soft texture with a great buttery flavor. I ended up putting the dough in the fridge and not baking them until two days later, and they still turned out really well. I used fresh grated nutmeg, too. We really love these cookies--the sour cream really makes them soft, and the nutmeg gives these a really nice subtle flavor. I'll make these from now on--they also kept their shape really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHUGARPIE6
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I used this recipe to bake cookies for some friends and they were a huge hit! The cookies kept a great shape after baking and they stayed soft for several days (until they were all eaten ;). The nutmeg in the recipe is also a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I loved these cookies!! They're REALLY good when you roll the cookies out thick. They reminded me of the Christmas cookies my family made when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I had misplaced my recipe for sugar cookies with sour cream. I think I have found a new family favorite. YUM! This is a tender, sweet with a hint of nutmeg cookie. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmendorf Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I thought these cookies were awesome. They need a lot of frosting for flavor. They are very fluffy and soft. Easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I hadn't had nutmeg in sugar cookies before, and I didn't particularly like it. I wouldn't try making the cookies without it, though, because they would probably be really bland like so many sour cream sugar cookie recipes are. The good thing is that they bake up very well. The cookies really hold their shape instead of spreading and getting too poofy. They're also a nice, soft cookie. But I'll stick with my normal sugar cookie recipe because I just didn't like the flavor of these that much. If you grew up on sugar cookies flavored with nutmeg, you might like them more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This recipe turned out pretty good. I thought that it was a little bland, so I gave them 4 stars. The cookies tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States