Sour Cream Sugar Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
When I read the reviews about this recipe I had mixed feelings about making it. I went ahead and tried it anyways because I am a sucker for recipes with less ingredients. Less ingredients = more cookies for my family. The "bland" taste everyone is talking about is really not bad. It makes the cookie just right after you frost it. I even sugar coated a batch before cooking them and they tasted great also. I did experiece the Crumble effect while mixing the ingredients together. Don't add more sour cream, water, or liquid. Use your hands to mix it till you form dough. I chilled the dough for about an hour before I used it. Turned out GREAT. Easy to cut cookies out of. I rolled them to about 1/4 of an inch, they didn't puff way out and they did hold the shapes well. I would recommend this recipe to everyone. This one is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I use a family recipe almost identical to this one and I personally think it is the best sugar cookie recipe. These cookies are easy to work with and turn out soft. If you don't like hard sugar cookies, these are the cookies for you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I made these for a holiday potluck at work. I've never tried making sugar cookies before, usually more of a butter cookie person myself, but these were fantastic! They completely held their shape and baked up to become tender little morsels of rich cookie goodness! I even went all out and decorated each cookie with homemade buttercream frosting. All in all, it was a big hit at work as well as at home. NOW i am getting constant requests for these tasty little sugar cookies. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
very good cookies for holiday decorating. They hold their shape very well & don't puff up too much...you need to roll them out about 1/4 of an inch.I make them every year for my Dad, he gets upset if I don't make at LEAST 4 dozen for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This has been the most successful sugar cookies I have made. I substituted white flour for wheat flour and it came out good. They stayed together and were soft. I only cooked these for about 7 to 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Don't see what others like about this recipe. They kinda taste like sweetened pie crust - similar texture too. Not much flavor. As a fairly experienced baker, I expect more flavor from cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe was really easy to prepare and they turned out great! They are not very sweet cookies, so I recommend serving them iced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Pretty good but a little on the bland side. Maybe will try again with a bit more sugar? Dough was easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
These were great cookies ! I am very pleased with how they turned out. Thank-you. Melissa P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Wonderful recipe, seems to hold up well for kids to decorate and wrap. Made several times over Christmas to many complements. Made large heart shapes for "Heart for Haiti" fundraiser at church Sunday to rave reviews. This is now my go to sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States