Sour Cream Sugar Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My 7 year old and I just made these today using Halloween cut outs and they turned out fabulously. We frosted them with the Sugar Cookie Icing recipe submitted by JBS BOX on this site (tripled the recipe). The end result was delicious and great looking. We’ll definitely use this again for Christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I really liked these. I topped mine with flaked coconut before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
not sure i'll make this recipe again. i was in search of a good sugar cookie recipe that was quick,easy and tasted great. although it was quick and easy, the cookies do not taste good. i followed it exactly, although i did roll them a bit thinner than recommended, that shouldn't take away from the taste. good thing for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nevada, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Should have listened to the reviews, but I was hoping they were just exaggerating. Definitely the most disappointing cookies I've made in awhile- very very bland, not even that great frosted. The texture was good, I like a cake-like cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I did not care for the flavor or the texture of this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trularue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
When I read the reviews about this recipe I had mixed feelings about making it. I went ahead and tried it anyways because I am a sucker for recipes with less ingredients. Less ingredients = more cookies for my family. The "bland" taste everyone is talking about is really not bad. It makes the cookie just right after you frost it. I even sugar coated a batch before cooking them and they tasted great also. I did experiece the Crumble effect while mixing the ingredients together. Don't add more sour cream, water, or liquid. Use your hands to mix it till you form dough. I chilled the dough for about an hour before I used it. Turned out GREAT. Easy to cut cookies out of. I rolled them to about 1/4 of an inch, they didn't puff way out and they did hold the shapes well. I would recommend this recipe to everyone. This one is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This has been the most successful sugar cookies I have made. I substituted white flour for wheat flour and it came out good. They stayed together and were soft. I only cooked these for about 7 to 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I don't know if I messed this up and I don't think so, but these were not what i expected. They were hard and when i got the flour into the cream mixture, it was crumbly to the point I added more vanilla, sour cream and some milk. Not a good recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These turned out rather bland as is, but sprinkling with sugar before baking and/or decorating with icing improved the flavor immensely. Easy dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe was really easy to prepare and they turned out great! They are not very sweet cookies, so I recommend serving them iced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States