Sour Cream Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I'm always making fun of people writing reviews and saying this didn't turn out and I did it exactly like the recipe called for except.... So, when I saw this recipe called for lard I was surprised that they still made lard but I went and bought it. I made them exactly like the recipe, no changes. When I baked them all I could smell and taste was lard. If my mother in law gave me this recipe I'd be fighting with her and divorcing her son. I thought maybe the lard taste was just in my mind so I took one to a friend to taste and asked what she though, she took a bite and said, God, it tastes like lard. OK, so if you love the taste of lard and I can't imagine anyone that would you mike like these. Perhaps they'd be better if shortning was used in place of lard because the texture wasn't bad but unfortunately all I tasted was lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I used this easy recipe for my holiday cookies. They were fabulous and I had lots of people ask for the recipe. I didn't just make cut out cookies, I also used this dough to make a rasberry filled cookie. You roll the dough into ropes (1 inch thick, length of your cookie sheet), use your finger to make an indent 1/2 inch apart all down the rope, fill the indent with rasberry jam, bake a little longer (maybe 10-12 min) and then drizzle melted white chocolate over the top and cut the rope into 1 inch pieces. It was by far the favorite treat. I also made frosted snowman cutouts that were delicous with this recipe, I added a touch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
This is now my ONLY sugar cookie recipe. They are soft and never crumbly. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This is a great recipe. Everyone loves these cookies. They are very versatile. I've made them lemon and orange flavored and iced them. They are always the first to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
quick,easy sugar cookie. a little soft so use plenty of flour when rolling and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I was leary of the lard in this one but since I had it on hand went ahead and tried it. I followed the recipe but did add about a tsp of almond flavoring to the dough. These cookies turned out fabulous! The dough was easy to work with. The cookies are really very good. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
we have been looking for a good sugar cookie, and this one is great. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
These are great!! I used organic shortening in place of lard because its not something I have on hand. I also added a tablespoon of lemon juice and they came out fantastic. We added a few drops of green food coloring and cut them into frog shapes to celebrate spring. I also live at high altitude and didn't make other changes to account for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is very similar to my original cut out cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States