Sour Cream Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
I have given this recipe to at least a dozen people. I absolutely love these cookies! I make about four batches for Christmas and freeze a few after they are cooked to enjoy later. Fluffy, delicious and easy to make! What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLATTER3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is the best sugar cookie recipe. I will always use this recipe for my holiday cut-outs. My only suggestion is to cut them out very close together, and don't re-roll the scraps. The cookies from the scraps were not as tender as the first cut out ones. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I used this recipe last year frosting and all. This year I've changed the frosting (a fluffier one), but when I thought I'd lost the recipe I'd printed out a year ago (before I decided to become a member) I was in a panic as to WHERE I had gotten this recipe online. When I found it again today I was thrilled. These cookies are PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I made these cookies at Christmas time and cannot begin to tell you the number of compliments I received. I even froze some and they tasted just as yummy. They had a nice sweet (but not too sweet, thankfully) taste, were soft and "fluffy" and the cream cheese icing was *very* good--thick, easily spreadable! The kids had a blast making and eating them so we're doing another batch for my son's Valentine's Day party! Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I love these cookies. I didn't find the dough hard to work with at all. It sets up very good in the fridge and is not sticky at all. I've made these three times now because I got so many compliments when giving them away for Valentines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
The dough was a little hard to work with (very sticky)even after it had been in the frig overnight. Other than that I loved the way these cookies held their shape during baking and they tasted very good, especially the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
This is an excellent sugar cookie recipe. I have been using the same sour cream sugar cookie recipe for years, but I tried this one when I came across it and it is now my new favorite. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These cookies are quite good. They puff up and are soft and cakey inside, but they also keep their shape pretty well. They don't have a whole lot of flavor, though; I added some extra vanilla and some almond extract, though, and it turned out fine. Because they are a little flour-y, I would recommend rolling them out in powdered sugar instead of flour (if you do it on a silicone mat, it is easier to get the powdered sugar spread evenly). Also, be sure to refrigerate for at least 1 hour. If the dough isn't well-chilled, it is kind of sticky and hard to transfer from the countertop to the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These tasted good but they were way to thick and puffy. More like sugary biscuits than cookies. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made these for my mom to bring to my first annual cookie exchange. She was really proud of these when everybody raved about them. Everyone wanted the recipe and she spouted it off like she'd slaved over the oven for hours. Then she'd wink at me. We didn't think they were bland at all. They were just regular sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States