Sour Cream Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is the best sugar cookie recipe. I will always use this recipe for my holiday cut-outs. My only suggestion is to cut them out very close together, and don't re-roll the scraps. The cookies from the scraps were not as tender as the first cut out ones. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I was searching for a soft sugar cookie and this one is great. I followed the recipe except I added a little almond flavoring because it is my favorite. I also found that if you roll the cookies out thin you get crisp cookies and too thick they are cake like. Wonderful flavor and I will make them again. I used my own frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Sorry I didn't like these. Not much flavoring in them, and I didn't like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Valencia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I wanted to find a rec. that was was similar to some I had in college. These fit the bill! Nice and soft! I would recommend to thicken the icing just a tad---so you can put athicker layer on(if you like icing...:)) Otherwise it was a very good rec. I used 4.5cps flour as well...very good--used it for halloween cookies! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naleek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These tasted good but they were way to thick and puffy. More like sugary biscuits than cookies. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I love these cookies. I didn't find the dough hard to work with at all. It sets up very good in the fridge and is not sticky at all. I've made these three times now because I got so many compliments when giving them away for Valentines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Wow the cookies are great. I'd say my favorite sugar cookie recipe and the frosting is awesome too. I did use almond extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made these for my mom to bring to my first annual cookie exchange. She was really proud of these when everybody raved about them. Everyone wanted the recipe and she spouted it off like she'd slaved over the oven for hours. Then she'd wink at me. We didn't think they were bland at all. They were just regular sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I thought this recipe would have been better without so much flour. I found the cookies to be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreve, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Very disappointing. Dry and bland foor a cookie. I wonder if the recipe calls for too much flour....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States