Sour Cream-Rhubarb Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very good, but I agree with the other reviewers that it doesn't call for enough rhubarb. I used 2 1/2 cups, turned the oven down to 325, and added 30 minutes of baking time. It came out just right. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. The suggested 2 1/2 cups of rhubarb work out great. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Get these away from me! They're delicious. I made them as is - didn't double the rhubarb - just made sure to spread it in the pan so that each bite had rhubarb - and it was really good. The topping was a bit dry - not sure what I did but probably could've upped the butter. You don't need to peel rhubarb - the stringiness melts away as it's cooked. I cut mine into about 1/3 inch slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi-dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
wonderful dessert. always looking for rhubarb desserts and this one I will make often. made as written. no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Definitely more of a coffee cake. Especially since the topping barely covered the top so I doubled it. I put in 2 cups of rhubarb and next time will do 3+ because I'd like it a little more tart/some rhubarb with each bite. But very good recipe despite the jumbled directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RN4L&D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Excellent recipe...we added some strawberries to the rhubarb to make the total fruit content 2 cups. Great with ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Tasted best right out of the oven, with some ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrugalistaJess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
DELICIOUS!! I followed the recipe completely, and they came out perfectly! The only thing I added was 1 tsp vanilla. Would be good as a dessert or a coffee cake! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was easy to make but turned out a bit mushy on the bottom, even after 50 minutes. I think I would have to bake for even longer but I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was a great recipe! The cake turned out to be very moist, and was just the right balance of tart and sweet. I also put a little over 2 cups of rhubarb in, but made no other changes. I do think that the directions and ingredients list should probably be edited so that they are a little bit clearer—they made sense after I read them through a few times, but I can see how they could be confusing. Thanks for the recipe—I know that I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States