Sour Cream-Rhubarb Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was excellent. I used the extra rhubarb and since I didn't have any shortening, I substituted apple sauce. It made the squares really moist. Next time I will try a few more walnuts and possibly add a small amount of coconut. My rhubarb was from the freezer and I thought it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
They were ok but rather gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA_LUSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Even my boyfriend who is insanely picky loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I agree with most of the others - this is more like a coffee cake than squares. The only change I made was I used yogurt instead of sour cream (it's what I had on hand). Other than that I made it as written. GREAT RECIPE! Thanks J. Hofslien for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I used 3 cups of chopped rhubarb as other suggested, it was exactly the right amount. It was done perfectly in 45 minutes. I served it at a duplicate bridge game and it disappeared in no time. I received several requests for the recipe and many raves. I did have staining in my coated metal pan where the rhubarb touched the bottom and sides. I've made a note to try a glass pan next time. Thank you for an excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Good ! Very cake like. I would add more rhubarb next time i make it the 1 1/2 cup of rhubarb is just not enough. I would bump it up to 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Amazing... like others I used yogurt instead of sour cream, and increased the rhubarb to 2 1/2 cups. Absolutely fantastic. Great as a dessert, and the leftovers are excellent for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
We really enjoyed this moist, flavorful "coffee cake." As previously noted, this needs more rhubarb; I added about 2 1/2 cups and think it could even use another 1/2 c. or so. I didn't have to change the cooking temp. or time; it was done right at 45 min. I came up with a great variation idea sort of by accident: since I was out of walnuts/pecans, I decided to try shredded, sweetened coconut in the topping instead. We loved how it turned out! Who knew that coconut could go so well with rhubarb?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very good, but I agree with the other reviewers that it doesn't call for enough rhubarb. I used 2 1/2 cups, turned the oven down to 325, and added 30 minutes of baking time. It came out just right. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. The suggested 2 1/2 cups of rhubarb work out great. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States