Sour Cream-Rhubarb Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This reminds me of the rhubarb cake my Grandma used to make. I did substitute applesauce for the shortening. This is very very good. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I wish I had added more rhubarb- (I put in about 2 cups) since that was the taste I was craving. However a good coffee cake as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I just got done making these. I took suggestions from other reviews - substituted the walnuts with oatmeal, shortening with applesauce and replaced the sour cream with one cup cherry yogurt and one tbsp baking soda (realized I was out of sour cream!). It was very good - I don't think my family would have noticed the changes if I hadn't said something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This recipe is very moist and has good flavor. It lacked the rhubarb taste I was looking for. I would make it again but I would add more rhubarb and I would mince the walnuts so they could be in every bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was delicious! Didn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Good! Easily lightened wi/Stevia. Used less fat/more fruit. Big hit wi/even a careful dessert eater like my husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I have made this recipe a few times and it is always delicious. Tonight I served it like cake with ice cream on top (rather then cutting into squares). I used oatmeal as a topping instead of walnuts in order to make them nut-free. This one is always a crowd-pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pammer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! I did add 2 1/2 c. of rhubarb as many suggested and it was great! Almost like a coffee cake, great for the morning with a pot of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is definitely more a cake than a bar. I made it with the 3 cups of rhubarb, 1/2 strawberries for color, and I added a small egg...batter felt dry. VERY good choice. Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States