Sour Cream Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Making these potatoes was a gift I gave myself. For more years than I care to reveal, I have been out in the kitchen at the last minute mashing potatoes. This time, I took a chance and made these. Boy, was I glad I did. They taste delicious, creamy and smooth. Only one person at the table even detected the slight "tang" of sour cream. Everyone loved them and thought they were my usual mashed potatoes. And I was one happy, relaxed cook. Instead of chives, I used the finely snipped ends of green onions (scallions,) in the same quantity. When you've got a huge, multi-dish dinner going on, this recipe can be a real life-saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I absolutly love this recipe "as is" and have made it many times. However if you want to take it up a notch heres something else you can try. I added chicken boulion and about 3-4 whole cloves of garlic.(No need to chop them up you'll mash them at the end) While the potatoes are boiling put about 4 peices of bacon in the oven. ( I cook them at 375f for about 10 minutes or so) When your bacon is done place it in a food processor and pulse until bacon is evenly chopped. Set aside. When the potatoes are done drain and add the cream cheese butter and sour cream. Another tip is to melt those 3 ingredients in a pan first before adding to the potatoes. Once mashed pour the potatoes into a baking dish add sprinkle chopped green onions on top, grated cheese, and finally the chopped bacon. You can set aside in the fridge and heat later-or-throw them in the oven until the cheese is melted. Again these potatoes are great as is or if you choos to spice them up a bit this is a great way to do it. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I loathe any kind of warmed up potatoes, so I was very reluctant to try this recipe. Still, I needed something extra convenient for times when I am unable to stand for long, so I eventually tried this. WOW!! Now I always have mashed potatoes in the fridge, just ready to go, and find they are totally delicious. sometimes I chuck a handful of grated Cheddar cheese on top before re-heating them, but usually I prefer them as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I have always been known for my mashed potatoes, so my standards are very high. I absolutely love this recipe! Now I can enjoy my company instead of standing in the kitchen cooking. The recipe is great as is but as you make it more you wind up putting your own spin on it. I like to put crumbled bacon, cheddar, and green onions on top for a great pot luck take along. I will make this one for years to come and have passed it on to many people. Great, great, recipe. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I have been making this recipe for 2 years and its always perfect. The only thing I change is that I use 1/4 cup chives and some garlic powder. I also cook potatoes in chicken broth which gives it a little more flavor. Thanks for a great helper at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Beaverhousen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Great easy recipe. I piped these into mounts along side of our steak and then decorated the potatoes and plate with more fresh parsley. Pretty and always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This worked beautifully even tho I only used half of the cream cheese. It was so nice to make this dish in the morning and just pop it into the oven in the evening. Thanks Carter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Delicious! I added 3 cloves of garlic to the water and these potatoes really wowed my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
These were good. I forgot about the paprika so it didn't get added. I also used fresh chives because that was what was ready for me. I will definately make this again. Thanks for something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I halved the recipe and added some milk to make them fluffier. Also added some minced garlic. Everyone in my family loved them! Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States