Sour Cream Raisin Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I made this without the piecrust. I substituted craisins for raisins and added chopped pecans, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This recipe is to die for!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina.S
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very simple to follow. I'd suggest only 5-7 minutes in the oven to golden the top. Mine was in for about 8-9 and got a little to brown for my liking but I'm sure it'll taste fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I love making this pie, it was my fathers favorite!! Since i was a teenager i did my best at making this for him as much as i could but sometimes it didnt turn out, but my dad was always happy and told me i did a wonderful job, even if it came out runny. Now as a mother i make this pie for every holiday avent and just to have once and awhile, the whole family loves it. When i make it to take to famiy functions its the first pie to be gone and alot of the time no one has ever heard of it and sometimes turns up their nose at it i guess just from the name of it but its all different once they taste it. This is a great recipe i have tried others to try and come close to the one my father would have when he was a child but he said this one was the closest to his moms recipe, and let me say its taken years to find that. also for people making this for the first time remember to prebake the pie crust its a important step...in my younger years trying to make this i couldnt figure out the crust, prebaking was the key!! enjoy this pie its a great thing to make and a wonderful thing to eat... this will always be my dads pie and my whole family will always think of him for the wonderful daddy, grandpa he was...06/19/2012 my dad will be very much missed and this pie will always bring good thoughts into our hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Prior to a Easter I had never heard of this pie, but made it upon special request. I was told it was delicious, but the reason for 3 stars was I had to make a few modifications. I am a trained pastry chef and in my opinion, the meringue on the pie (as stated) was horrible and flat. I substituted a 'regular' meringue recipe and it was great. Also, I added 1 cup sugar and 1/3t. cinnamon because the nutmeg overpowered the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Wonderful and so easy. I did split cinnamon and the nutmeg. I will omit the lemon juice though. It lends too much tartness for the taste I was looking for. Save this one for sure. Oh, I also replaced the meringue for real whipped cream. Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
SO good! My family thought I was weird for making this old lady pie, but I loved eating it with my great aunt and wanted to share it with my family. They loved it too! You can't find it in restaurants, so I'm glad I found such a great recipe =) I considered soaking the raisins in rum or something... must try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Very good recipe...the only thing I changed was instead of 3/4 t nutmeg I put equal parts of cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg...my dad really liked this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisternanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AndreaRT
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I thought this was a wonderful pie, better than my mother-in-laws (shh don't tell her)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndreaRT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good, but VERY sweet. I didn't grow up with this as many reviewers did, so it wasn't exactly to my taste, but I can see how others would love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States