Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Definitely the best and simplist moist pound cake recipe I've found! I added the zest of 1 lemon since I love anything lemon and rate this 10+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trent Schermerhorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Very easy to make, came out perfect, I did add two teaspoons of vanilla extract...will make again and will add some pecans in mix and ontop of glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This is awesome! It is nice and crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. It goes well with strawberries, or you could pour milk over the top and eat it for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
i needed a pound cake to make an april fools dessert for my kids. i chose this one because of the simple ingredient list. i didnt have sour cream so i used vanilla yogurt. turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This was excellent. Our favorite pound cakes have a wonderful crunchy crust and this one does not disappoint. I added a pinch of salt and a splash of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Folle-Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I have made this five or six times now. I have added vanilla, lime juice, and almond extract at different times. I have made it in a loaf pan and as cupcakes. It's consistently a hit. I like that it is a simple recipe I can make quickly with the help of my young kids. It is plain enough that their friends all like it, and it doesn't have to have icing to be good, making it easy to pack and eat for kids. I double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This is a delicious, moist pound cake. It is a basic recipe that can easily be tweaked to your taste buds and measurements adjusted easily to fit the serving sizes you want. There were only two things I added which was salt and some vanilla extract. I doubled the serving size recipe and was able to bake in a 10 x 13 pan that baked up beautifully. I lowered the temperature per users suggestion of 350 degrees, and baked for 45 minutes, then increased temperature to 365 for additional 15 minutes to finish baking the middle and gave a light golden color. This cake was definitely moist and dense. My family gobbled up half of it with vanilla icecream on the side after waiting five minutes for it to "cool" off. ?? Perfect combination for a delicious cake ??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasmin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great recipe!! It was so easy. I doubled it and reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup, and my cake turned out perfect. This was my first 100% from scratch, homemade pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
The cake over-flowed the pan, dropping excess batter in oven and the edges were burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I love this recipe! I added a little vanilla to the mix and baked it for 50 min. My Husband and Dad are huge fans I have made this 3 times this month and have one in the oven as I type! Can't wait to make more for family and friends this holiday season. Going to try some different add ins soon will post again if they come out the way I hope they will!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States