Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I only hope we can eat this and I'm so very glad it isn't a gift or for a special occassion. I followed recipe exactly - 8x4 greased and floured pan, 375 degrees. Well the cake came out over the pan, dropping excess batter in oven. By the time it was at a point where a toothpick came out dry, the edges were burnt. This definitely needs a bigger pan. All i saw were 5 star reviews so didn't think I had to do anything but follow directions. I'm going to cut off burnt edges and hopefully the taste is much better than the looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I love this recipe! I added a little vanilla to the mix and baked it for 50 min. My Husband and Dad are huge fans I have made this 3 times this month and have one in the oven as I type! Can't wait to make more for family and friends this holiday season. Going to try some different add ins soon will post again if they come out the way I hope they will!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I used the recipe given but I used cake flour instead doubled the ingredients, added vanilla flavor to use in bunt pan. I must say my first time baking it came out Ok , the only thing was it was an after floury taste that I didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakevia Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
The recipe as is is fine but there's definitely something missing. This really isn't a pound cake as much as it is a loaf cake, I was expecting a little bit more buttery flavor. That said, it comes out sweet, nice dense cake, not dry in the least, and if you pair it with strawberries it works- I made a strawberry sauce to go with it and it jazzed it up nice. But I can't give it more than three stars because of the disappointment in the flavoring otherwise. Maybe some vanilla would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
It was great!! I added vanilla extract and lowered the temperature
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Our family love the recipe. I have tryed a few times as is and always turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I tweaked the recipe like ChitownCook suggested and it came out very moist, but a bit dense. Maybe because I added a little more sour cream. It's very good though and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Mendoza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
i made it today it was a really good. i used brown sugar instead of white but still was yummmmmm thanks for the helpul reviews it really helped me. the temparature i used was 350 for 45 mins it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I like to cook and eat good food but I rarely make anything with TOO many steps. This recipe was simple, delicious, and can be made with staples I keep in my home. Like some of the other reviews, I added vanilla extract, used room temperature eggs and butter, and in the future I will lower the temperature to 350°, use less sugar and double the recipe for a larger cake (my 1st cake was devoured). I no longer feel the need to purchase a sour cream pound cake (which costs more than other cakes in my bakery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
So, so. Needs some extra flavoring. Its not very moist either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States