Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I tweaked the recipe like ChitownCook suggested and it came out very moist, but a bit dense. Maybe because I added a little more sour cream. It's very good though and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
i made it today it was a really good. i used brown sugar instead of white but still was yummmmmm thanks for the helpul reviews it really helped me. the temparature i used was 350 for 45 mins it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I like to cook and eat good food but I rarely make anything with TOO many steps. This recipe was simple, delicious, and can be made with staples I keep in my home. Like some of the other reviews, I added vanilla extract, used room temperature eggs and butter, and in the future I will lower the temperature to 350°, use less sugar and double the recipe for a larger cake (my 1st cake was devoured). I no longer feel the need to purchase a sour cream pound cake (which costs more than other cakes in my bakery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
So, so. Needs some extra flavoring. Its not very moist either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
It was okay. I used vanilla extract but it still came out too sweet. I'd recommend using 3 teaspoons vanilla extract and 1 teaspoon salt. It was just too sweet and not the good kind of sweet. It was sickly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Yum!! Made this along with Simple Strawberry Sauce from the site for dessert. It was so good, the cake was so moist. I added just a little bit of Almond Extract and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Love it! I cut sugar to 1cup and 1 /3 butter but it still came out very good! Super easy as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made the recipe as written except I baked my cake in a deep 8 inch round cake pan. It only took about 40 minutes to cook. Next time I will bake it at 350. The bottom got just a little more brown than I like. I don't recall ever making a cake without flavoring. Since I often make shortbread without flavoring I tried it. It's perfectly delicious. It has a somewhat "natural", for lack of better term, quality to it without the flavoring. The texture was spot on, dense yet fluffy still. This is the perfect cake to serve with strawberries. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryandkevinaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
It doesn't make enough batter for it to bake without burning for an hour as recepie calls. Do not bake for the whole hour...probably 30 min. Or double the recepie. Overall texture and taste were nice except for overcooked shell (icing helped) but I added vanilla and lemon extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe was amazing! I used two cups of sugar because I love sweet pound cake. Amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States