Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I have used this basic recipe for a couple of years. It's four stars with the changes that I made. I added a tsp of vanilla and decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup. I don't like a sweet pound cake. I added more like a heaping half cup of sour cream. The first time I made this it started to burn. Now I bake it at 350. If anyone is new to baking and unsure of what a pinch is just use a 1/8 tsp measure for the salt and the baking soda and you will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
590 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
This is excellent! This is what I did to make it come out that way. I added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract to the batter. I baked it at 350 degrees for 75 minutes. The inside was moist and tender. The outside was crusty and rich. I topped it with whipped cream and sliced, sugared fresh strawberries. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
Great recipe! I doubled the recipe, used cake flour, a tube pan and dropped the temperature to 350. The cake was perfect! Remember..eggs and butter at room temperature and don't overbeat. This recipe is a keeper! http://www.film-guy.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chitowncook
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I already had this basic recipe in my file, but I needed to make a few changes. To start, I doubled the recipe so that I could use a 10 cup tube pan instead of a loaf pan. I always make sure that my ingredients are room temperature before I start. This is very important in cake baking. I creamed the butter and sugar, but I used unsalted butter and I used 2 1/2 sticks instead. I kept the sugar at three cups and I used seven large eggs separating the yolks, adding them one at a time, beating well after each addition. I put the egg whites in a glass bowl and set aside. Then I added the extracts to the mixture, but I did something different. I like a very flavorful cake, so I used one teaspoon each of orange, lemon and almond extract and two teaspoons of vanilla extract and never, ever use imitation. I just can't imagine baking a cake without some extract or other flavoring. I used cake flour instead of all purpose and I sifted it three times. Because I like to use unsalted butter I had to add 1/2 teaspoon salt, plus 1/4 teaspoon baking soda to the flour. I split the flour into thirds and added it alternating with the sour cream. Then, I beat the egg whies until stiff peaks were formed and folded them into the batter, poured the batter into the tube pan and baked for about 90 minutes at 350 degrees. This cake was perfect and its a nice big cake. I simply love it and its moist, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chitowncook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I added lemon zest and poppy seed to this recipe. Zest of one lemon, juice of lemon and 1/4 cup poppy seeds. Then I added a lemon glaze of lemon juice, powdered sugar and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
My husband is a great cook, but following detailed recipes is not his style. This is an easy to follow recipe with a tremendous pay off! The crust is crisp with a tender and moist cake in the middle! Watch the time, as our oven cooks it in 45 min. Also, double the recipe if using a bundt pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent pound cake - very moist and goes perfect with fresh strawberries and homemade whipped cream. I did add 2 tsp. of vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp. of lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Beautiful, classic pound cake, tho' I do add a pinch of salt and a flavoring as well - vanilla, almond, lemon - the possibilities are unlimited. I also use the traditional preparation method: cream the butter and sugar very well, a good few minutes, until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the flour and sour cream alternately in thirds, beginning and ending with the flour. Set timer shorter than designated baking time to guarantee a moist cake by not overbaking. Delicious. On this occasion I used this batter for cupcakes - one recipe makes 12. Make a double recipe for a Bundt or tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Very good, with minor changes. I added vanilla extract, baked at 350, but had to cover with foil after 40 minutes to keep from getting too brown. I might reduce the sugar a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I think personally, that the flavor was ok (that's based on the batter, anyways). However,the cake came out dry and I was very careful not to overmix or overbake. Not pleased; will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkerlieBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States