Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Fabulous Recipe! I had one similar to this passed down from my mother and I misplaced the recipe. Thank you for sharing this taste just like hers ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Excellent poundcake. This is very simple and easy, not too dry. I enjoyed making it with different flavorings - lemon, almond, bourbon, etc for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynda k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe - delicious with strawberries and whipped cream. Needed a lower temperature and longer time as the outside started to get a bit darker than I wanted. Agree that 1 scant cup of sugar is better or it's just too sweet. But very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Wonderful. Followed the directions exactly. Made a great strawberry shortcake. Good toasted with butter on it for breakfast. Will add some vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
A VERY easy cake, which turned out nice. I baked it at 325 for 1 hour in a bundt pan. Instead of greasing the pan I used 2 tbsp butter and sprinkled 1/4 cup sugar over the butter, which gave the cake a great candied crust. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. Overall, a good basic pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
delicious! I made this for co-workers who were very happy. 4 stars only because I agree with a lot of reviewers - 375 i think is too hot. My cake started browning at 35mins and at 45 mins I thought it might be done but the middle was still very not cooked. I turned the temp down to 350 and let it cook through. It never burned and actually ended up with a lovely crisp top. Next time I will add lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
perfect pound cake Texture perfect made two loaf pans. Taste great better than the frozen in the store,perfect for my petit fours.And soooooo easy .Loved it thankyou very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
i loved this recipe!!! it was so easiy to make and it was realy tasty...i'm not a big fan of pound cake but when I decided to do Easter dinner at my house, i wanted strawberry shortcake for dessert! poundcake was easiest so that's what was made. I actually forgot the pinch of baking soda in mine and it still turned out wonderful! Thanks again for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was a pretty good pound cake... I did reduce the oven to 325 and baked for 1 hour... I also added a splash of vanilla... Topped with Strawberries and homemade whipped cream... yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I made some changes however. I used a stick of Smart Balance buttery spread, 1 cup of light sour cream, and limited the sugar to 1 1/4 cup. I also lowered the heat to 325 during the last 25 minutes. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States