Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This only just misses the coveted 5 star rating by a whisker. It's a solid starting point. However, it loses a half star because 1) it benefits greatly from the addition of flavoring and 2) the instructions are incorrect. No way around it. The temperature is too high, and the timing too long. Had I baked it at the indicated 375 degrees and left it in for 50 minutes (subtract 10 minutes to compensate for the larger pan I used - read on) the result would have been a dark brown outside, and and a dry inside. It should be baked at 350 degrees. Because I don't have the loaf pan size specified, I used a 9"X5" pan, and 45 minutes resulted in a perfectly baked cake. The texture is spot-on for a pound cake, dense, with a moist, velvety crumb. Excellent keeper, presumably because of the sour cream, which imparts a lovely flavor. I used 1 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 tsp each of orange and lemon extracts. This can be tailored to your tastes. 1-2 tsp vanilla will give you a flavorful plain cake, but you can use any combination you'd like, such as almond, coconut, anise, lemon, rum, maple, orange, or a little of all of them. If you like citrus, fold in 1-2 tsp finely grated zest. Infinitely variable. It's fast and easy to throw together in no time at all. Freezes well, but do not store for more than 4 months tops, double-wrapped in plastic for optimum quality. Looks like a Sarah Lee or Entenmann's cake, with a far superior flavor to either. With these minor modifications, stellar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Wasn't excepting a whole lot from this recipe, but much to my surprise it turned out EXCELLENT! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a great recipe. Very easy to make and is moist and great for short cake. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and plan to experment with other flavores. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Wonderfully light with a crisp crust to the top. Easy and simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
My husband and I love this recipe, though we do add 2 tsp of cardamon, and a tsp of vanilla! Very tasty! We've also discovered that you can use greek yogurt in place of the sour cream with the same great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made this cake last night and we all loved it! Very MOIST! Absolutely delicious... I follow the recipe but made some adjustments as suggested by some reviewers: I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and I separated the egg yolk from the whites and folded the beat egg whites into the dough at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD_RJ_Atl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
It was alright, I guess. I will not be making it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Fabulous Recipe! I had one similar to this passed down from my mother and I misplaced the recipe. Thank you for sharing this taste just like hers ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Excellent poundcake. This is very simple and easy, not too dry. I enjoyed making it with different flavorings - lemon, almond, bourbon, etc for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynda k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe - delicious with strawberries and whipped cream. Needed a lower temperature and longer time as the outside started to get a bit darker than I wanted. Agree that 1 scant cup of sugar is better or it's just too sweet. But very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States