Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Tastes way too much like eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I've baked this cake twice. The first time I followed it exactly except I reduced my cooking time to 50 minutes and tooth pick came out clean. It was a great cake. The second time I replaced half of the sugar with splenda (3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup splenda) and it tasted exactly the same as the origional. Next time Im going to try substituting the splenda for the sugar totally. I believe it will taste the same as the origional that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paoli, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is light, but I prefer a dense, buttery pound cake. To me, this is like angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was very good, but I baked it in a bundt pan and I thought it turned out just a tad dry. Next time I will bake it in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
We loved this pound cake and will definetely make again. I made a few changes. The recipe was doubled except for the sugar, I reduced it by 1/4 cup, added 2 tsp. vanilla, fresh farm eggs (which made the color turn a rich yellow) & reduced the temp. to 350. I also used a bundt pan. Have to say it was fast & easy. Thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I have high hopes for this pound cake, but it was too good to be true, for sure. :( Oh well. This is the kind of recipe that burns on the outside before it is cooked on the inside. The outside was almost black and the middle was still dough. The edible parts were definitely tasty, but most of it was garbage. Maybe cooking it longer at 350 might be better? Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Such a great flavor alone or....sliced and served with chocolate peppermint sauce for treat day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very tasty. I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and 1 tsp of almond extract. It is a hit in my household. My husband and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyShead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osceola, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is my first pound cake. It was good. I used cake flour because that was what I have. I added some vanilla. I also lowered the sugar to 1 1/4 cup and i still thought it was pretty sweet. Put the temp to 350 in the last half hour. I will be making more pound cakes then come back here to update. Thanks for the formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States