Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This has been one of my basic 'go to' recipes for the last twenty-five years. I have played around with it and whatever I do, it always turns out great. I have added a medium seedless orange, chopped, including peel, and I have split the pound cake in two horizontally and filled with cream cheese, and marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
PERFECT! Love it! My changes were to double the recipe, cook it in 2 loaf pans and add 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla (Yeah it sounds like a lot, but it gives it a wonderful vanilla hint at the end of chewing a bite.) For me, when I bake, if it's a sweet, vanilla goes in. Sometimes it's the barest splash, sometimes it's more like this recipe. I REALLY recommend trying to add a dash of vanilla to anything sweet you're baking- it REALLY makes the flavors pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I forgot to add baking soda so it was dense but it was delicious nontheless. Also, I added some lemon zest, put it in a bundt cake pan and put warm icing over it. So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I have tried this recipe twice now and it seems a bit dry. I also decreased the temperature to 350 and took it out at only 50mins...edges were too brown for my taste and to dried up. Not sure what to do with this recipe to get it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
My daughter loved this cake! So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very good when lemon extract is added with vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Tastes way too much like eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I've baked this cake twice. The first time I followed it exactly except I reduced my cooking time to 50 minutes and tooth pick came out clean. It was a great cake. The second time I replaced half of the sugar with splenda (3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup splenda) and it tasted exactly the same as the origional. Next time Im going to try substituting the splenda for the sugar totally. I believe it will taste the same as the origional that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paoli, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is light, but I prefer a dense, buttery pound cake. To me, this is like angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was very good, but I baked it in a bundt pan and I thought it turned out just a tad dry. Next time I will bake it in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States