Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this to use for strawberry shortcake and made no changes. It is very good, however, I found that the edges/top got very dark before the inside cooked. When the inside was cooked, the outside was almost burnt. I'm not sure what that's all about.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Holy salami, call my mommy! This is the best pound cake! After baking it according to the recipe out of respect for the baker, I began adding 1/2 tsp each vanilla and almond extract. Delicious! I have the recipe memorized now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Wonderful cake! I honestly dontt know why some have changed it, its not the same when altered! thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki94

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darlington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This has been one of my basic 'go to' recipes for the last twenty-five years. I have played around with it and whatever I do, it always turns out great. I have added a medium seedless orange, chopped, including peel, and I have split the pound cake in two horizontally and filled with cream cheese, and marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
PERFECT! Love it! My changes were to double the recipe, cook it in 2 loaf pans and add 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla (Yeah it sounds like a lot, but it gives it a wonderful vanilla hint at the end of chewing a bite.) For me, when I bake, if it's a sweet, vanilla goes in. Sometimes it's the barest splash, sometimes it's more like this recipe. I REALLY recommend trying to add a dash of vanilla to anything sweet you're baking- it REALLY makes the flavors pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I forgot to add baking soda so it was dense but it was delicious nontheless. Also, I added some lemon zest, put it in a bundt cake pan and put warm icing over it. So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I have tried this recipe twice now and it seems a bit dry. I also decreased the temperature to 350 and took it out at only 50mins...edges were too brown for my taste and to dried up. Not sure what to do with this recipe to get it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
My daughter loved this cake! So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very good when lemon extract is added with vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Tastes way too much like eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States