Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe as is unchanged! It is especially good when it is still warm from the oven. One loaf gone in minutes at family dinners. I am always asked for this recipe whenever I make it and bring it anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was delicious. I added 1 tsp vanilla and baked at 350 for 1 hour 10 minutes. Came out perfectly, a bit crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. Served it with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
bleh...WAY too much sugar. I saw that people said to drop the sugar in the reviews but i didn't listen -.-. It tasted like cornmeal porrige (the rest of my family agreed) which isn't a bad thing, but i thought it would taste something like entenmann's cake or something bases on all the 5 start reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I enjoyed this cake, but have has better. It's still really good and i'de make it again. Especially because I usually have all the ingredients for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This cake came out really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this to use for strawberry shortcake and made no changes. It is very good, however, I found that the edges/top got very dark before the inside cooked. When the inside was cooked, the outside was almost burnt. I'm not sure what that's all about.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Holy salami, call my mommy! This is the best pound cake! After baking it according to the recipe out of respect for the baker, I began adding 1/2 tsp each vanilla and almond extract. Delicious! I have the recipe memorized now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Wonderful cake! I honestly dontt know why some have changed it, its not the same when altered! thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki94

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darlington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This has been one of my basic 'go to' recipes for the last twenty-five years. I have played around with it and whatever I do, it always turns out great. I have added a medium seedless orange, chopped, including peel, and I have split the pound cake in two horizontally and filled with cream cheese, and marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
PERFECT! Love it! My changes were to double the recipe, cook it in 2 loaf pans and add 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla (Yeah it sounds like a lot, but it gives it a wonderful vanilla hint at the end of chewing a bite.) For me, when I bake, if it's a sweet, vanilla goes in. Sometimes it's the barest splash, sometimes it's more like this recipe. I REALLY recommend trying to add a dash of vanilla to anything sweet you're baking- it REALLY makes the flavors pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States