Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
It's a very easy recipe, I like that I can add my own creations to the batter. This is a keeper in my file. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Definitely a delicious pound cake. All the reviews are right - the baking temperature is definitely listed too high. Reduced it down to 350 and it was done in about 50 minutes. It's not as moist as I would have hoped but I would definitely make it again and just watch the mixing and baking time really carefully. Added a pinch of salt, a teaspoon of vanilla and the zest of half a lemon. Also reduced the sugar down to 1 cup and still found it really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe, the cake is super moist and buttery. The only change I made was decreasing the sugar to 1 cup and it turned out fine. My family loved it and now I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is delicious-dense and moist. My only change was to add the juice and zest of one lemon and some vanilla extract. I did not have a problem with it being dry as some reviewers noted, but I watched the time in the oven carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I took another reviewer's suggestion and added a teaspoon each of PURE vanilla and almond extracts. This baked at 350* for just under 70 minutes. I did cover the pound cake halfway through the baking time with foil to prevent the top from burning. This is a delicious pound cake--the flavor that the sour cream adds to this dessert is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I doubled the recipe, added a pinch of salt & 2 tsp of vanilla, and baked in a Bundt pan. It was a perfect pound cake, moist and buttery. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe as is unchanged! It is especially good when it is still warm from the oven. One loaf gone in minutes at family dinners. I am always asked for this recipe whenever I make it and bring it anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was delicious. I added 1 tsp vanilla and baked at 350 for 1 hour 10 minutes. Came out perfectly, a bit crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. Served it with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
bleh...WAY too much sugar. I saw that people said to drop the sugar in the reviews but i didn't listen -.-. It tasted like cornmeal porrige (the rest of my family agreed) which isn't a bad thing, but i thought it would taste something like entenmann's cake or something bases on all the 5 start reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I enjoyed this cake, but have has better. It's still really good and i'de make it again. Especially because I usually have all the ingredients for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States