Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Very good. Wish I would have stuck with the full amount of sugar, instead of reducing like some suggested. Baked in a convection at 325 for around an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
After reading alot of the reviews, I took the following suggestions: 1. I DOUBLED the recipe and used a bundt pan, plus... 2. I added 2 tsp vanilla extract 3. I added 2 tsp lemon juice, freshly squeezed 4. I added 2 pinches of salt 5. I Lowered temp to 350 and baked for exactly 60 min. for doubled batch (check it early though, depending on your oven can be done within 55 min. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
i'm not really into baking cakes.. but i wanted to use up some sour cream that was about to go and figured bf would like this... he loved it.. i started running out of white sugar.. so the last half cup was brown sugar.. added 2 tsp of vanilla extract and a pinch of salt.. i cooked it at 350 and it took about an hour and 20 minutes.. was moist and fluffy.. ty for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this on Sat. for my mother-in-law's 85th birthday and it was a huge hit! Very moist and excellent taste. Will definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bertaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
It's a very easy recipe, I like that I can add my own creations to the batter. This is a keeper in my file. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Definitely a delicious pound cake. All the reviews are right - the baking temperature is definitely listed too high. Reduced it down to 350 and it was done in about 50 minutes. It's not as moist as I would have hoped but I would definitely make it again and just watch the mixing and baking time really carefully. Added a pinch of salt, a teaspoon of vanilla and the zest of half a lemon. Also reduced the sugar down to 1 cup and still found it really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe, the cake is super moist and buttery. The only change I made was decreasing the sugar to 1 cup and it turned out fine. My family loved it and now I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is delicious-dense and moist. My only change was to add the juice and zest of one lemon and some vanilla extract. I did not have a problem with it being dry as some reviewers noted, but I watched the time in the oven carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I took another reviewer's suggestion and added a teaspoon each of PURE vanilla and almond extracts. This baked at 350* for just under 70 minutes. I did cover the pound cake halfway through the baking time with foil to prevent the top from burning. This is a delicious pound cake--the flavor that the sour cream adds to this dessert is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I doubled the recipe, added a pinch of salt & 2 tsp of vanilla, and baked in a Bundt pan. It was a perfect pound cake, moist and buttery. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States