Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Made this today exactly like recipe said and it was delicious! Easy to make and will definitely make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Cake was easy to make and ingredients were things I always keep around. Tasted great on the second day. Thing to remember with pound cakes is that the flavor "ripens" with time and they will always taste better after 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I was raised in the deep south and pound cake with ice cream after Sunday Dinner was the dessert my grandmother most often served, especially in the summer. Her pound cake was the traditional kind (only butter, sugar, eggs and flour) and while it was really yummy, I always felt my aunt's with sour cream was a little better. This recipe is very close. I doubled it, added 1/2 t almond extract, used 1/2 t baking soda and 1/2 t salt and cooked it longer and slower (1 hr 15 min at 325 degrees) in a bundt pan. Mmmmmmmm! I'm planning to serve it tomorrow after our barbecue with homemade peach ice cream. (If it lasts that long!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Argh! Followed this recipe and used an 8x4 loaf pan as directed - I have spent nearly an hour cleaning the bottom of my oven from the batter that overflowed the pan and burned on the heating element. Will try the recipe again, but suggest using a 9x5 pan to avoid spillage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Super simple, very tasty! Next time I think I will lower the temperature a bit and extend the baking time (the bottom of my pound cake was burnt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I added almond flavoring and about 1/4 more sour cream and the cake was perfect and very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Very good. Wish I would have stuck with the full amount of sugar, instead of reducing like some suggested. Baked in a convection at 325 for around an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
After reading alot of the reviews, I took the following suggestions: 1. I DOUBLED the recipe and used a bundt pan, plus... 2. I added 2 tsp vanilla extract 3. I added 2 tsp lemon juice, freshly squeezed 4. I added 2 pinches of salt 5. I Lowered temp to 350 and baked for exactly 60 min. for doubled batch (check it early though, depending on your oven can be done within 55 min. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
i'm not really into baking cakes.. but i wanted to use up some sour cream that was about to go and figured bf would like this... he loved it.. i started running out of white sugar.. so the last half cup was brown sugar.. added 2 tsp of vanilla extract and a pinch of salt.. i cooked it at 350 and it took about an hour and 20 minutes.. was moist and fluffy.. ty for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this on Sat. for my mother-in-law's 85th birthday and it was a huge hit! Very moist and excellent taste. Will definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bertaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States