Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great recipe!! It was so easy. I doubled it and reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup, and my cake turned out perfect. This was my first 100% from scratch, homemade pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
The cake over-flowed the pan, dropping excess batter in oven and the edges were burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I love this recipe! I added a little vanilla to the mix and baked it for 50 min. My Husband and Dad are huge fans I have made this 3 times this month and have one in the oven as I type! Can't wait to make more for family and friends this holiday season. Going to try some different add ins soon will post again if they come out the way I hope they will!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I used the recipe given but I used cake flour instead doubled the ingredients, added vanilla flavor to use in bunt pan. I must say my first time baking it came out Ok , the only thing was it was an after floury taste that I didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakevia Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
The recipe as is is fine but there's definitely something missing. This really isn't a pound cake as much as it is a loaf cake, I was expecting a little bit more buttery flavor. That said, it comes out sweet, nice dense cake, not dry in the least, and if you pair it with strawberries it works- I made a strawberry sauce to go with it and it jazzed it up nice. But I can't give it more than three stars because of the disappointment in the flavoring otherwise. Maybe some vanilla would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
It was great!! I added vanilla extract and lowered the temperature
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Our family love the recipe. I have tryed a few times as is and always turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I tweaked the recipe like ChitownCook suggested and it came out very moist, but a bit dense. Maybe because I added a little more sour cream. It's very good though and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Mendoza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
i made it today it was a really good. i used brown sugar instead of white but still was yummmmmm thanks for the helpul reviews it really helped me. the temparature i used was 350 for 45 mins it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I like to cook and eat good food but I rarely make anything with TOO many steps. This recipe was simple, delicious, and can be made with staples I keep in my home. Like some of the other reviews, I added vanilla extract, used room temperature eggs and butter, and in the future I will lower the temperature to 350°, use less sugar and double the recipe for a larger cake (my 1st cake was devoured). I no longer feel the need to purchase a sour cream pound cake (which costs more than other cakes in my bakery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States