Sour Cream Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I loved this recipe! I have never been a huge fan of pork chops because i find them to be dry but this recipe was a definite winner with my husband and myself. Will keep it around for sure. The only thing i did different was add an extra bouillon cube and put the seasonings in the flour and on the pork to get more flavor. Also upped the sour cream and flour mixture a little bit to get more thickness. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I added fresh mushrooms to this. Also I recommend making mash potatoes with this fabulous gravy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I've made variations of this dish over the years for it was my dad's goto dish when I was a kid. But although the meat was incredibly tender (as it should be)... I didn't care for the "sauce". So from now on I will simply stick with the potatoes and cream of mushroom soup... the way my dad made it. NOTE: I used both a leaner center cut chop & a fattier shoulder chop... the shoulder is the way to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This was super awesome! I hate crock pot recipes that make me cook before I put things in the crock, so I skipped the browning step like another reviewer did. Just threw my 6 frozen pork chops in the crock and put in some seasonings on top. I used a LOT of garlic salt, some pepper, and sprinkled in a little flour (although I doubt that made any difference). Followed all the other directions. The pork chops were very tender after 8 hours (shocker). I didn't have a lot of time to waste thickening a sauce in the crock pot, so after I removed the chops, I just poured the broth into a saucepan to thicken with the sour cream and flour. Served over rice, it was a perfect homey meal that my whole family (including my 19 month old) chowed down. Next time, the only change I make will be to cook maybe 2 - 3 more chops. I had lots of extra sauce and no chops to put them on. There was more than enough broth for a couple more chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
We LOVED this recipe, but I did modify to "our" preferences. I'm sure it would be great as is but we just like more spice/gravy. I doubled the recipe as I always do for my "big" eating family! I browned the prepared and heavily seasoned pork chops and set aside. I sautéed 4 cloves of fresh garlic with the onion, then poured 1 can of cream of mushroom soup in the same pan mixing in with the brown particles from the pork..YUM. I then added boiling water/bouillon (probably a bit more than written) and slowly added a mixture of corn starch and water to the mix. Placed the pork chops on the bottom of my large crock pot and then poured the "gravy" mix over the chops. Cooked approximately 5 hours on low setting and carefully removed chops to a platter. Added sautéed "fresh" mushrooms (approx. 16 oz.) and container of sour cream. Mixed gravy well, then put chops back in to the crock pot and continued to cook maybe an hour longer. The chops were already done, but we were not ready to eat yet. The house SMELLED AMAZING!!!! Served over Polish egg noodles with seasoned fresh green beans. It is not a pretty dish, but the TASTE IS AMAZING!!!! My family from ages 8 to 55 LOVED this dish. I WILL DEFINITELY BE MAKING THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN!!!! SOOOOO GOOD! I used center cut pork chops "with" bone so had to be careful as some small bones were left in sauce. But that little tid bit didn't bother my family at all. SMELLS & TASTE AMAZING........sooooo TENDER you will LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I have made this several times now and it is always a hit with my family. Can't believe how tender the chops are! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamskape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The only change I made was to season the sauce and added a little more flour to thicken it faster. Otherwise followed the recipe as is and it was good. Pork fell apart it was so tender. My husband never likes my cooking and he said twice it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I've tried this recipe a few times and it is delicious! I prepared the recipe today using lite sour cream. I could not tell a difference and I will be using lite sour cream from now on since I'm trying to eat healthier! I don't always brown the chops before placing into the crock pot and it still turns out great. Today, I cooked it on high for 3 hours and they were perfect! I really don't think you can go wrong with this recipe! It's a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is one of my favorite slow cooker meals that I make quite frequently. The pork comes out so tender and the sauce is delicious. Mushrooms would make a great addition to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This recipe has become a household favorite! I brown the chops on the weekend then freeze them. I put the chops in frozen and it makes for quick preparation before heading of to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States