Sour Cream Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
YUMMY AND EASY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very good! Chops just fell apart and the sauce/gravy was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
While I ended up with a good result, I think the recipe needs tweaking. I recognize that 'flavor' is subjective and as written this wouldn't have enough for us. I seasoned the flour that I dredged the pork in as well as seasoning the chops themselves. I think the browning step is important because it seals flavor into the meat before adding any liquid to it. I sliced and added an 8 oz package of crimini mushrooms after an hour of cooking which also added flavor to the sauce as they cooked down. I think the timing in the instructions is way off and would end up overcooking the meat. I cooked the chops for 4 hours on low. They were tender but still held their shape and were not dry at all. I also think the advice of putting them in the oven is not wise and would result in some drying out. Instead, I piled these on a plate and covered them tightly with foil while thickening the sauce. I chose this recipe specifically because it did NOT call for Cream of Anything soup so I followed the instructions for this part. While my sauce did thicken up, I do understand why you would choose the stove top route if you were in a hurry. I wasn't, so after thickening the sauce I ended up adding a bit more sour cream and a good solid helping of dill weed to give it more flavor. I nestled the chops back in the sauce and left the crock pot on warm for another hour until serving. The sour cream and dill flavor really worked for us - a little reminiscent of a stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Really enjoyed the ease of this recipe. The cooking time was a bit long for my crockpot, the meat kind of "dissolved" in your mouth. Next time I will reduce to about 5 hours. Great versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My husband loved this! The pork chops were really tender and it was super easy. My only adjustment next time will be using a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of the sour cream. I just think it would have a little more flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was wonderful, even as leftovers. I browned mine in a skillet and then put them in my crockpot that was set to 4 hours (this is high mode for this crockpot). After about 3.5 hours I checked on them and they were ready to go. My family absolutely loved them. I served it with some pesto noodles and veggies. Will definitely make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was delish in the slow cooker! I used 4 thick, bone-in chops. I added garlic to the oil before browning them, mixed in lemon pepper and thyme into the flour, and poured the pan drippings over the chops along with the broth. I cooked them on low for 3-4 hours and then kept them on warm for a couple more... meat was falling off the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My BF made this for me last night with scalloped potatoes and green beans. He made it exactly as it said to; other than the chicken bouillon because he couldn't find it, so he used beef bouillon instead. Despite that, it turned out really good and we liked it. The chops were so tender and good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was so easy, and so good! I used garlic salt instead of garlic powder for a little extra kick. I also put the water in the frying pan I used to brown the pork chops, added the bouillon to that so I was able to get boiling water really fast but also pick up all that flavor that was left in the pan.(I then poured it into the crockpot) At the end, I did something similar--rather than adding the sour cream to the crock pot to thicken, I poured the juices into a frying pan and let it thicken there. Much faster results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I loved this recipe! I have never been a huge fan of pork chops because i find them to be dry but this recipe was a definite winner with my husband and myself. Will keep it around for sure. The only thing i did different was add an extra bouillon cube and put the seasonings in the flour and on the pork to get more flavor. Also upped the sour cream and flour mixture a little bit to get more thickness. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 816) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States