Sour Cream Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Excellent pie!! I added a tsp of cinnamon to the sugar/flour/butter mix that goes on top of the pie. I took this to my family's thanksgiving meal and I was really nervous because I am not known for been a good baker (or dessert lover) in the family but everyone loved it! I had a bite and it was really tasty. I did cook it about 10 min longer than called for and some of the butter/moisture from the topping bubbled over onto the bottom of my oven (which I guess I have to clean anyways) but all in all, excellent and easy pie. My family couldn't believe it came from canned pears! Thank you Tanya!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I made this pie for family and everyone really liked it. Only problem was it bubbled up and over the pie pan. Was quick and easy to make, especially since you use canned pears. I have never made a pie with canned fruit, but this was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Very tasty! But I wonder if this freezes well at all? I made little tartlets with this recipe for a Bible study which got cancelled last minute and now have 2 trays of these tarts. Anyone tried freezing these? SO I did freeze them and they did turn out well after I reheated them in the oven. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Different strokes for different folks. I thought it was way too sweet and threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This is a scrumptious pie! The topping was especially lovely...I added some almond extract which really gave it something special. I didn't have graham crackers so I made a crust in my food processor with brown sugar, melted butter, flour, salt, vanilla extract, almonds, and candied ginger. The pie was a little runny when I cut it but DANG it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celantiis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I think this pie is fantastic. It's such a unique flavor! My husband, daughter, and parents love it, but my sister-in-law finds it too rich. Personally, I didn't think it too rich at all. Definitely a recipe to try at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Very good! I let it bake until the topping turned golden (beware of possible drippage). A little whipped cream on top and you're set with a refreshing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I don't like pears, but I made this pie for a friend and I really enjoyed it. So far its always been a hit everytime I've made it. It can be time consuming because you crumble the crust on half way. and I always broil the top for 2 mins approx, otherwise it doesn't brown. (Watch it carefully) and it serves better after it's cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADEKITTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
excellent pie! A sweet, cool change from the same old. *thumbs up*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
This was so good! I followed the directions exactly and would not change a thing. Thanks Tanya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States