Sour Cream Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I made this pie for family and everyone really liked it. Only problem was it bubbled up and over the pie pan. Was quick and easy to make, especially since you use canned pears. I have never made a pie with canned fruit, but this was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Excellent pie!! I added a tsp of cinnamon to the sugar/flour/butter mix that goes on top of the pie. I took this to my family's thanksgiving meal and I was really nervous because I am not known for been a good baker (or dessert lover) in the family but everyone loved it! I had a bite and it was really tasty. I did cook it about 10 min longer than called for and some of the butter/moisture from the topping bubbled over onto the bottom of my oven (which I guess I have to clean anyways) but all in all, excellent and easy pie. My family couldn't believe it came from canned pears! Thank you Tanya!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Different strokes for different folks. I thought it was way too sweet and threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Very good! I let it bake until the topping turned golden (beware of possible drippage). A little whipped cream on top and you're set with a refreshing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
excellent pie! A sweet, cool change from the same old. *thumbs up*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I think this pie is fantastic. It's such a unique flavor! My husband, daughter, and parents love it, but my sister-in-law finds it too rich. Personally, I didn't think it too rich at all. Definitely a recipe to try at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
This was so good! I followed the directions exactly and would not change a thing. Thanks Tanya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I don't like pears, but I made this pie for a friend and I really enjoyed it. So far its always been a hit everytime I've made it. It can be time consuming because you crumble the crust on half way. and I always broil the top for 2 mins approx, otherwise it doesn't brown. (Watch it carefully) and it serves better after it's cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADEKITTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Not bad tasting, but more dense than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My mother in law is the famous for her cakes and pies. It's difficult to compete with her...HOWEVER... I made this pie for my husband, and he says that it's the best pie he has ever had! It melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States