Sour Cream Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was a really nice recipe! I did make some changes to suit my family better though. First, I added a teaspoon of almond extract to the filling, and I also used fresh, ripe pears in the filling instead of canned ones. I didn't use a graham crust but instead made pie crust using the recipe on the Crisco box, it always turns out for me and delivers a nice, flaky crust. Lastly, I added some oatmeal to the topping. We really liked this pie, and will make it again, it would be quite refreshing in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Im really surprised this is so highly rated. Its not bad, but just not...really anything. I thought the pear flavor was too mild and the topping bland and not sweet enough. Needs something else in the filling to make it have more taste, definitly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Very tasty! But I wonder if this freezes well at all? I made little tartlets with this recipe for a Bible study which got cancelled last minute and now have 2 trays of these tarts. Anyone tried freezing these? SO I did freeze them and they did turn out well after I reheated them in the oven. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
A great twist on apple pie. It felt like it would be fancier than it turned out, but my entire book club LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
this recipe was quick, easy, and delicious, making it again for our belated Christmas get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This pie was great!! My husband don't like pie's that much, but said I could make this one as often as I like. The only thing is I didn't care for the gramhan cracker crust. So I made it again and I used a regular flour pie crust and that once was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prescott, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This is a scrumptious pie! The topping was especially lovely...I added some almond extract which really gave it something special. I didn't have graham crackers so I made a crust in my food processor with brown sugar, melted butter, flour, salt, vanilla extract, almonds, and candied ginger. The pie was a little runny when I cut it but DANG it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celantiis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was the best pie I have ever made! Everyone I made it for thought it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This has become a favorite request for dinner get-togethers. Thanks for such an unusual treat. My sister's boyfriend loved it so much, he converted the recipe to feed 100 for the church camp he cooks for. Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennwhitehead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My mother in law is the famous for her cakes and pies. It's difficult to compete with her...HOWEVER... I made this pie for my husband, and he says that it's the best pie he has ever had! It melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States